What rises in the east will surely set in the west

in OCD4 years ago

What rises in the east is destined to head west and fall below the horizon. We’ve got it down to a science. Our phones even know when the sun will pop up and lay down. But I was reminded not to take this for granted yesterday when I woke up to this glorious sunrise. It wasn’t the prettiest of sunrises. The colors were a bit drab, with dabs of orange here and there. The clouds were a bit thick. But just before the moment of truth, the clouds slightly parted and allowed sun to shine through and create a beautiful sunrise. Beauty to me, rest in the fact that I’m alive with 2 feet planted on the ground, all the while staring into the sky in amazement. I don’t want to ever take that for granted. I snapped this piece of photography in order to preserve the moment for later. In my mind the images in planted and will remain.

I’ll give you two different versions of the same photo.

This first photo is an altercation of the original. It’s black and white monochromatic beauty. I love the way the large cloud in the middle is fanning out above my head and contrasting nicely with the bright white light beginning to fill in behind it.

4C21DA90-1F88-4A92-83A3-F44227F69846.jpeg

This is the original version and you can tell it’s not as beautiful as one might think a sunrise should be. That’s OK because they all can’t be beautiful…

3C0A8EA1-C141-4A4A-AD65-51FEABC043FB.jpeg

The sun is my witness, she rises up to watch what I do. In a moment she will warm me when I am cold, and at another burn me if I neglect her presence. She wakes me when I sleep too long, lights my way when I cannot see through the darkness of the trees, and throws rays upon my back so that I may see shadows up on the ground. I dare not stare at her majestic brightness for it may burn my eyes and I shall never see her again. I trust that she is near. I will know when I feel her warmth upon my shoulders. I shall realize she is greater than me and that I am at her mercy. I shall not take her for granted! Sun, oh glorious sun.

Oh, and please don’t tell her I was talking crap on her pitiful sunrise this morning. I don’t want her wrath upon me! Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha.

Sort:  

I really like the black/white version! Very dramatic!

My thoughts too. Thanks man!!!

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment