You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: (Rarity x Beauty)² = V.W. SP2

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Cool looking car! The rear looks extremely Porsche. The restomod render kinda looks neat but goes too far in modding. All it really needs is a classic NA Porsche flat six for some oomph.

I just learned from Bring a Trailer that Brazil made a special variation of the Karmann-Ghia that looks a tiny bit reminiscent of the SP2: https://bringatrailer.com/listing/1974-volkswagen-karmann-ghia-tc-2/

I think the folks in charge of VW Brazil in the 1970s got real jealous of those sexy 911s, and it resulted in the K-G TC and the SP2.

Sort:  

Oh yes, I was just reading about that on Jalopnik. It serves as proof that those Brazilians are getting all the cool Volkswagens that we'll likely never see! Then again their imports, so far as I've learnt, was almost entirely shut down. So, all those hot 911s and Alfas that Europe was hooning around with likely never got sold in Brazil, and as you've said that jealousy probably got them riled up enough to make this 😆.

I didn't think about it when I wrote this, but now I'm really reminded of a Porsche, a 928 or 944 with that sloping roofline. As cool as it was, I agree that the render might be going a bit too far on the looks; probably that wide bodykit looks too much. I don't know if a flat-six could fit back there, but I'm sure we can squeeze in a 914 flat-four in it, since it's a VW motor after all. That should give it at least a bit more hutzpah!

image.png

Better than 0-60 in 16 seconds I'm sure. I also kinda thought the TC looked like if Porsche came out with a 924, the 928 with the SP2, at the same time as the 911 in the 60s. As silly as that would have been with rear engines as well.

Lol, yeah I can see that now 😆! I don't know much about the Karmann Ghia cars at all, but as you say the TC does look like VWs attempt to make some budget 911 way before the 944 came out. It's like the 718 of the 1960s, I guess. On that subject, if a 914's engine could fit inside the SP2 for a restomod, maybe a more modern 944's shouldn't be an issue as well, eh?