You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Quitting From Freelancing Sites Made Me A Better Freelancer

in OCD3 years ago

Interesting read, thanks for sharing. I was a staff writer with an american fun/educative website for a few years and it was quite good but eventually, you get tired of writing posts that someone else figure out and assign to you. I mean I love it here on Hive where I write about whatever I just feel like :) I´m sorry that you didn´t find us earlier, I am sure you wouldn´t have taken those terrible $5 posts at Upwork if you had already been on Hive...

Sort:  

you get tired of writing posts that someone else figure out and assign to you

That's quite interesting. Because I'm at the point where I like a topic that's already figured out. You know, with a rough outline of the talking points. All I have to do is find information to write about. Maybe because I'm still starting out? Or the client and I are thankfully on the same wavelength? Not sure tho 🤷‍♀ It's just cool to hear a different perspective from a writer as well.

I'm grateful to find Hive. It surely is a safe place for just anything you want to write about. But if not for my article from my Fiverr gig, @ybanezkim26 wouldn't have known I had a knack for writing. Then, I wouldn't have started earlier in Hive :) So it was part of the process 😅

Maybe it´s individual and you will enjoy this kind of work for long years :) I did it for like 3 years. Same before that with translations. I did mostly movies and TV documentaries so there was a great room for creativity (unlike with translating contracts, manuals and other boring technical stuff) but again, after some 3 years, I didn´t find it that cool anymore. Here on Hive though, I am already past that 3 year milestone and still enjoying it so hopefully, that´s something I will never get tired of :)

Heh, no surprise about @ybanezkim26, this guy has brought here an incredible amount of great people :)

 3 years ago  

Stop it you two, @kayceeports2020 and @phortun! I don't deserve the mention. 🤭

Wow, that's quite a lot of years of experience. But I'm glad you have settled here in Hive, still enjoying what you do after more than 3 years 😊 I hope the same goes for me, hehe.