My introduction to hive

in OCD7 months ago

Hello everyone, my name is Ayemere Precious, I am light-skinned and blonde, and because of that people around me hardly call me by my name, they just use the common term for light-skinned people in Nigeria known as “Oyibo”. Sometimes it can be frustrating when walking down the street and a random person just yells out "OYIBO!". I have learned not to allow it to bother me anymore and just got used to it

My Origin and Family

I am a Nigerian, a native of Esan, and I am based in Edo state. I was born on May 14, 2000. I am 23 years old and an ambivert; I love being outside mingling with people, partying, and socializing but most times I am indoors in my own space, I have just a few friends. I am the fifth and only daughter in my family, and I grew up with five brothers. I did not experience much teasing or bullying from my brothers during my upbringing, as I was so reserved and that's my nature. I remember a particular incident when I was dancing at my mother's shop, and my elder brother advised me to stop and go inside. Despite his warnings, I persisted with my dancing, and as a result, he disciplined me that day.

Educational background

I recently graduated from the University of Benin where I studied Forest Resource and Wildlife Management. It wasn't an easy journey but I thank God for a successful graduation. There were hard times, there was alone time, and there were sweet times as well. At one point, I didn't even see myself graduating because I fell seriously ill in my fourth year and I told myself that I would take a break and return to school when I am alright but deep down I was praying for the usual university strike in Nigeria and it happened.

School activities were on hold and it helped me to recover, though I wasn't fit to resume when the strike was over, I had to tell myself that I was going to graduate with my friends, I wasn’t going to stay an extra year and it happened! I just thank God it turned out positively in my favour.

My hobbies

What do I love doing? Eating and tasting different delicacies! Well, I can't stay without food although I am quite slim. My friends always make fun of me that I eat a lot and it doesn't add to my weight. I love singing a lot though am still learning to be a good singer, and I also love dancing; it was my dream when I was still a kid to dance in music videos, usually after watching dancers on the television. I love reading a lot, watching movies and drawing. I also love racing.

My fears

I am afraid of heights, but I thought I wasn’t until I went to a National Park in my state; the Okomu National Park in Edo state Nigeria. There was a hanging foot bridge we were told to walk across, at first I didn’t want to go on it but the tour guard convinced me to walk across it and that nothing would happen. We walked in groups but I was still sweating, shaking, and walking like a snail, my heart was racing. I don’t want to experience that ever again, it wasn’t funny for me as I was on the verge of crying that day.

Who introduced me to Hive?

I have been hearing above hive for a while from my close friend @kushyzee. I have been seeing him write and I am always intrigued whenever I read his posts. I started developing an interest in the hive blockchain, and he explained to me how it works. I was skeptical about it at first I didn’t know how to be creative in my writing, he told me that no one is perfect and that I should give it time maybe it will just flow with consistency.

This is my first ever article on this great platform and I am so excited. I can’t wait to connect, learn more, and share the knowledge I have with everyone, I am so grateful to be a part of the Hive Community.

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

Welcome To hive
Good to have you here and enjoy your stay
Congratulations on your graduation

Thanks a lot I appreciate

You're welcome

Welcome on board ma'am...I hope you enjoy your stay here!!🙂🙂

Thank you very much

Hello (◍•ᴗ•◍) welcome to hive (人 •͈ᴗ•͈). Nice knowing a little bit about you. I hope you enjoy your stay here. You can join any communities here base on your niche or just anything. You'll find out more as you spend your time here so continue exploring. Have fun hiving ฅ^•ﻌ•^ฅ

Thanks you so much. I will

Congratulations @pjwelry! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - October 2023 Winners List

Thank you

That's great @pjwelry! We're excited to see your accomplishments on Hive! We keep cheering you on for your next goal!

Welcome @pjwelry by the way, even when you don't have time to write, you can also upload videos instead blogging. I think it would be nice since you also enjoy singing as well as dancing.

When you have the time, You can read some of these additional information. For tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: newbie guide and The important thing is Hive is a bit different from other social media platforms since you are monetizing your blog. You can't include content that you don't own without sources. For more information, check this post: Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise. Not to mention, overall plagiarized content is bad for your credibility and visibility too.

If you have questions or concerns, you can hop into OCD's Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.

~ @macchiata from the @OCD and @lovesniper team bringing you some helpful tips navigating hive.

Thank you so much, I will do well to go through it

Welcome to hive @pjwelry it was indeed a tough journey I'm glad you want to win and you did

Thanks a lot, I appreciate

You have officially started your hive journey and I hope it will become fun for you from now on. Welcome to the community my dear 😁

thanks a lot, dearie for inviting me to this great community

Welcome! I am looking forward to see if you post some of your singing ♥️

Thank you so much. I will try to post a video of me singing soon

Hellooo @pjwelry,
Welcome to Hive Ecosystem! ♦️

Excellent introduction, I loved the post!

Here you will find a very healthy network.
Where you have freedom of speech and receive a lot of support for your effortin creating content.
I hope to see you flying through the communities and staying forever in Hive!
Nice to meet you!

I invite everyone to participate in the communities: HiveBR and SkateHive.
In addition to being a content creator, I am a Moderator and Curator in these communities.
Let's exchange ideas and evolve together.

Boelter hugs straight from Brasil!

boelter-upgrade.gif

and because of that people around me hardly call me by my name, they just use the common term for light-skinned people in Nigeria known as “Oyibo”

I'm with you here.
Many people don't know my real name 😄

You're highly welcome to this world. Being brought in by Kusyzee means you're in a safe hand