You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #theydontcallmenathen initiative......What was the first 'computer' game you ever bought?

in OCD4 years ago

This is the first one I remember, pre home computer I think, or we couldn't afford one.

Screenshot 20200416 at 19.18.27.png

The first computer I had was a Texas TI99 4A - the game I was a bit obsessed with was Munch Man, they're version of that other branded game!

That clip took me right back, the anxiety the faster higher levels used to induce!

Sort:  

I had that first one! Except here in the U.S. it was called "Fire Away" (at least mine was). I believe it was sold by Radio Shack.

Oh that's interesting!

I don't even remember what it was called, not even having found it again online!

I just typed in 'yellow space invaders game, 1980s'.

I do remember playing it A LOT when I was a kid though.

Radio Shack in the UK was called Tandy and it was simply an Aladins cave for teenage geeks lol...

image.png
This was my plug into the TV one!! But in a house with only one black and white TV, it caused friction hahaha
TI99 4a, a very sexy looking computer...never hand one but loved the design.

That looks cool. I love the idea of a box you programme with just games.