You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Adopt, don't shop

in OCD4 years ago

Excellent post, @karinxxl. Thank you for tagging me.

@tarc did a lot of difficult work during our years in Appalachia. Overall, we helped place more than a thousand dogs and cats into loving homes across New England and eastern Canada.

A lot has changed since that bus ride in Poland when it dawned on me who you were back there in the seat behind me chatting away with @revisesociology. I'm in Morocco now and working on the launch of a new nonprofit to help animals in Azemmour, a small town on the Atlantic coast. I can't be here and see all the problems I know how to fix and just do nothing. But I won't run a shelter again. My health won't allow it. Thankfully, Morocco really doesn't need shelters because in most places, if the animal populations are not out of control, strays are allowed to live in peace and their communities take care of them. Hopefully in the near future I'll be posting more about this on Hive.

Sort:  

So after France to Morocco?? yeah I am really curious on how life is treating you there, and cool to hear agin you are looking at the non profit stuff.

That busride was a cool moment of all acknowledging each other, and yes...I think we all have done a lot of stuff since that moment in Poland and now

Take care there girl, and yes do write about the shenenigans on the other side of the mediterranian!