Sort:  

I haven't used Adobe After Effects.
I find myself still, after decade plus, using Lightroom, and Photoshop.
It's been a few years since Illustrator.

As for Video, I learned on AVid, and Media 100... haven't touched video editing, except for some home stuff on iMovie.

I suppose I should install the Adobe toys and get to know them, with all my free time since my industry completely is out of work. (Special Events AV Production)

Ooff, yes... The industry is out of wack over here as well. Most of my projects got canceled or are on hold right now. It is for most businesses it seems. So... working at home, learning new stuff and trying out new things is a great idea during the crisis for sure.

You may not believe it... but I tried out Lightroom just a week ago (after taking photographs for 13 years), I always used plain and a pretty old version of Adobe Camera RAW, and did further post-processing in Photoshop. I've been missing out on the development on these babies for years lol.

I graduated in Motion Graphics, After Effects was my first post-processing software that I ever worked with. It's pretty cool, give it a go for sure! I'm not such a big fan of Illustrator or InDesign... but maybe they have improved the UI/UX on those as well.

Since you're in the AV sector as well, have you tried out, or are you already using your skill to add footage on stock sites?


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Appreciate the visit, @c-squared! <3

I think I agree RE the color grading in the video vs. the photo, but they are pretty close. I think the skin color around the eye is maybe a little cooler in the video. But honestly I am not sure if it is really the color differences that make me prefer the video or if it is all the minute changes that happen in the eye as the iris focuses which are visible in the macro video and of course not revealed in a still frame. Fun little project!

Haha yes, that certainly adds a touch to it, right? It's crazy to see how the iris reacts to light, and how fast it responds when focused on/looking at something. Even though I could swear @lackofcolor was only looking directly in the lens.

Interesting that you mention it, I thought the photograph was a little bit too warm (or too much magenta), whereas the video was more realistic to the skin tone of @lackofcolor. One big difference is that the video was shot outside and the photograph was shot inside (tethering :D).