Restaurant vs Home-made Meal 🥘 - Which Is Overrated?

in OCD2 years ago (edited)

For as long as I can remember, families in Nigeria prepared their meals based on something known as meal-planner in foreign countries but was popularly known as food timetable in Nigeria. My family wasn’t left out on this as ours was written on paper and was glued to the kitchen and dining room’s wall. This style of living was common back in the 2000s but now seem to have gone out of existence at the time of writing this.

As I was about writing on this topic, I reminisced on the good old days, when I only had to focus on my studies while I enjoy mum's homemade meal. So sad that all of these changed when I moved out for my higher education. After all, nothing lasts forever so, it’s what it’s.

Speaking of my experience with making homemade meals, believe me when I say homemade meals are the best for so many reasons. However, there are prices to be paid for it. Sit back as I will be diving deep on them.


During my 4 years in higher institution, I can clearly count the number of times I bought meals from restaurants. I wasn't being stingy on myself but I was already used to homemade meals, which was why I prepared each of my daily meals at home. I gained several knowledge and experiences and some of these are why the restaurant exists today.

Cooking at home is exhausting

Since I started making my meals, I have come to notice how exhausting making meals could be. But I'm still wondering why moms never complained to their children about this. 🤔 Hehe...

Trust me when I say it's exhausting because you'd have to list the ingredients needed for the meal, go to the market or stores to purchase the ingredients, then, head back home to prepare them. I did all these most of the time and I almost gave up on cooking the first few days.

giphy (3).gif
source

I was always tired before starting the meal. Even if I summon myself the courage to prepare the meal, I still end up getting too tired to eat after cooking. Nevertheless, I still repeated this process almost weekly for 4 years because that’s the only best way to get myself a meal for the day.

Do you prepare your meals yourself? If yes, How exhausting can it be?

I made cooking part of my school life and with that, I never let the stress from cooking weigh me down. I rather focus on the end product I’d get from cooking.

Eating outside

As much as I find it difficult to eat outside, there are some of my close friends back in school who never cooked. For example, a friend of mine who visits me in my hostel on daily basic never cooked. The disappointing fact is; *it’s a lady*. I once asked her why doesn't she make her meals herself? She clearly told me it's very exhausting and that she'd rather get her meals at a restaurant down the road. I tried convincing her by mentioning the benefits of homemade meals but I guess I’m not a persuasive person.

Later that day, I offered her the meal that I cooked for the day, but she rejected it saying and I quote "I don't eat outside". In my mind, I laughed and said you don't eat outside but you eat in restaurants?

giphy (1).gif
source

Okay, enough of her talks. She's on hive but not active and I'm never going to tag her 😅

Do you prefer eating outside? if yes why?


Restaurant is expensive

At the starting of this post, I clearly stated that I had gotten my daily meals from the restaurant a few times. And these few times, I came to realize how restaurants could be expensive in several ways. The prices of things in restaurants are almost twice the prices outside. Even with that, I never got satisfied eating a restaurant meal. One thing thou, I have to admit that their meals taste good but not always. And speaking of the expensiveness in restaurants, how are those who eat in restaurants daily able to eat to their satisfaction?

If your answer in the previous paragraph is yes, why do you still eat in an expensive place?

Cooking skill

I have tasted meals from different cooks, and I won't deny the fact that cooking skills contribute to how a meal tastes, and its taste determines how it’s being rated. In my country, moms, daughters, or generally females, are seen as better cooks. But let's not forget that *men cook too.* However, food taste or cooking skills don't have to do with your gender but how well you do it.

I'm a guy who knows how to cook than many ladies I can think of. In fact, I wouldn't agree more that the best chefs are men! take a look at - Gordon Ramsay, Wolfgang Puck, Colonel Sanders...


Final thought...

53C716BD-A495-45E3-8A84-F6B1DE4EA945.gif
source

When I cook at home, I have the choice to eat as much as I can for a less amount. Since I have my meal right in the kitchen, I don’t have to reach out to anyone before I eat. The stress that comes with home meals is just once and that’s when you’re about to make the meal. You have the choice to prepare how your meal tastes and won’t hold anyone responsible for your bad cooking skills.

Restaurants are always ready to serve you what you paid for without you stressing. You have the choice to eat the different meals in restaurants if you have the money to pay for them. It’s expensive and sometimes doesn’t always taste the way you expected.

Are homemade meals overrated? or restaurants are?

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.