Onboarding new users #3

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

image.png

There have been two busy weeks and many things have happened since I published my first onboarding series post.

First of all, I have been joined with a couple of good friends to launch a new community to help onboard new users, especially young ones.

My teammates @natureleague and @rosaoc and I would like to introduce you to Beyourself community and the corresponding webpage. We will intend to make things as easy as possible to enroll and help new users the very first weeks they land into Hive. We have many more ideas for the coming future and I will let you know as we implement them.

Besides launching the community I have been taking some time approaching some Hiveans to give us a hand with visibility and votes or delegation so we can Wellcome the newcomers. I've had good reactions from many of you but I want to give a special thanks to @soyrosa and @hauptmann for their support the very first minute I explained to them what we were intending to do.

Finally, last night we had the first online meeting with the Catalans community. Although it was only 7 of us, it was great to get to know each other and chat for almost 2hr about Hive/Steem and all the changes the Blockchain has gone through during its existence. I also presented them Beyourself community and listened to their feedback as some of them are "old" Hiveans.

During this period we introduced three more users into Hive:
@trebla2002, an old Steemian who we have reintroduced into Hive
@propix, a photography New Yorker who I expect to surprise all of us posting some of his work. And @ariadna6 who is still figuring out how everything works but I am sure will start posting very soon.

Have a great weekend!

Sort:  

Great work regarding the onboarding process 👍

In regards the launching of the new community:

  1. The most important thing to clarify if you aim to launch a token is to generate sinks. If the token has no usecase and it's just a 'reward point', their price will trend towards 0. You have 1000's of examples at hive-engine

  2. I see that between you, @rosaoc & @natureleague barely account for ~750 HIVE. Consider purchasing more HIVE & staking it. With more staked HIVE big players will always take you more seriously. If in the other hand the community is succesfull you'll need to HP long term anyway.

Remember that HP represents 'commitment'.

Enjoy the weekend :)

Thank you @empoderat
We are using @softworld to manage the community, it has 32K HP.
We are also studying the different options for the token, I am not sure if going with Hive-Engine or launching a Telos token. Both options have pros and cons. We will probably start with no token and decide which option we use after we get some traction.