The Ballet of the Sardine Storm

in OCD4 years ago

Deep deep down under the surface of the ocean I am surrounded by a thick constantly moving mass of sea creatures, so many the light of the sun is blocked. It feels like night. I am trying to adjust my vision.

IMG5369.jpg
Erie darkness as they swarm above me in a thick writhing school. As if they are all together as one. Swaying this way and that as if controlled by some other wordly intelligence.
IMG5371.jpg
Suddenly they move all at once, so quick it makes it appear that everything is moving. I lose perspective, where is up? Where is down? Don't panic, stay calm, breathe slowly.
IMG5370.jpg
Disoriented and completely confused I try and stay in one place and allow it to move around me. It's constant movement i have nothing to focus on to get my bearings. I know something has disturbed them, but what? I exhale slowly and the bubbles pass my ears making a loud gurgling noise. As my lungs empty I sink a little, some gentle pressure on my ears tells me so. I equalise my ears by pinching my nose and gently blowing against it. I now have perspective of up and down. I can think.
IMG5367.jpg
Is it my presence or is there a predator causing panic among them, out of my sight where I can not see.

IMG5368.jpg
Suddenly the huge school of fish calms again as if suddenly every single sardine relaxes. They gently move again above me. Mesmerizing in the ballet of the ocean below. Peaceful once more with just the gentle sound of my bubbles passing my ears.

Sort:  

Awesome photos @scubahead

You've inspired me to write a contemporary world music symphony for such a sublime environment

Keep up the great work of creativity through your photos.

Regards

https://luciannagy.com/?page_id=513

you've just made my day. I am so happy you found such inspiration from this. I very much would love to listen to this upon completion

I'll let you know when i'll finish it ...

Maybe i'll insert it as a composition inside of a new electro-world music album, like this one: https://luciannagy.bandcamp.com/album/hyat-ep-album that was composed with the talented dj/music producer @strangersouma

Enjoy the music @scubahead

another great pictures! ^^

thanks so much @athaejin :)

I really liked how you described this. I felt like I was in the middle of the whole thing with you. I think it must be a wonderful experience to live such a moment. I dream about swimming next to a whale... I would just float in awe looking at the majestic presence of this animal

I have always found sea life and the ocean to be very interesting, captivating, mysterious. So much deepness yet we only scratched the surface....I wonder how many more unknown fantastic creatures remain hidden to the human eye.

Loved the photos and the post. Thank you!

thank you @creativemary I really appreciate that. It's sometimes difficult to describe what we feel diving. Great moments that sometimes impossible to share. Thanks for the lovely comments :)

Welcome, I really like it