How to turn each Hive Community into an onboarding powerhouse

in OCD3 years ago (edited)

F54468E0-C2FF-4F16-8F58-B51E4B82E6BA.jpeg

I have been planning a huge contest for the past few weeks and I’m getting ready to roll it out. It’s meant to target Twitter users. If we can pull this off, it could be a great tool for Hivesters looking to help onboard new users.

The goal is twofold:

1 Onboard (ideally) 20-100 new users from a particular niche and help familiarize them with the ecosystem.

2 Create a simple but effective template for any niche communities to use as an onboarding tool.

The main idea is to find hashtags on Twitter that have active communities and strong network effects and to make contests for users to join Hive and write their first post on a specific topic related to that hashtag.

In general hashtags have lost much of their power in the algorithm but they still work if the hashtag has a lot of interaction (follows, likes, retweets, comments) and that have minimal spam. #btc and many crypto abbreviations for example have too much spam to be effective.

The tag that I’ve identified as having a strong community and a network effect that’s relevant for my Cross Culture community is #langtwt. That’s where lots of language learners hang out on Twitter.

I’ve also found #anitwt for anime, #gametwt for games, and I even found myself interacting with a cool community of horror fans despite the fact that I don’t like horror (though I forget the hash tag..). It will take some work to find other good tags but if we all share our experiences we might be able to come up with some good ones.

Here’s how it works

1 The Hive community members/leaders search for tags on Twitter that have a good network effect and lots of interaction.

2 They spend a few days connecting with some people from this tag. 15-30 is enough but 100 is much better. Tweet a few tweets worth their time if you can.

3 Find as many people on hive Twitter as possible to retweet. I will try to gather a coalition to help with this so reach out to me!

4 Make a contest announcement post TARGETING TWITTER USERS. Introduce Hive, Offer some prizes to those who create a good post in your community with a certain theme or question. I’ll post mine sometime this week. Feel free to copy it and change the details.

5 Create a catchy tweet and link to the contest post. Ask everyone you know (including me) to retweet your link and perhaps to create their own tweet about it as well. Retweets come first.

6 Make participants feel welcome and show them the ropes.

It may sound like a lot of effort but it’s not only going to really get the Hive name out there, but it can help all of us involved increase our reach on Twitter too.

I am thinking of offering about 300 Hive in prizes from the @crossculture account. If it’s successful I may dip into my own funds or seek donations to do a contest every 2-3 months, or to help smaller communities that are putting in the effort but don’t have funding.

Our question is going to be “What are the ups and downs of your experience learning a language?”

I would really appreciate anyone who retweets or helps me connect with Hivesters that have substantial followers on Twitter.

I’d like it if all the different communities could cooperate on this and help each other retweet. I’d also love some help reaching so community leaders. You can find me in our Cross Culture discord.

This is only going to work with some cooperation so please share this post and leave a comment if you can help me retweet after I post the contest!

Also if you follow me on Twitter, that’d be pretty cool! My Twitter

🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎

My music:

My lazy vlogs:

my mini-novella series:

Confessions of the Damaged - Out Now!

Confessions_of_the_Damaged_1.1_cover_final.png

🎬Self Help For Trolls

🎸I + Everything

📕 Confessions of the Damaged OUT NOW :-)

F4CD1B1ECCD442A1B52D9F956DCA8A5B.gif

Come join us in Hive Cross Culture where we talk and share ideas about Culture, language and travel and share any bilingual content. Join our discord.

I’m still not sure the best way to get reach when Twitter algorithms treat links unfavorably. If anyone knows the best way (posting links in the comments) avoiding certain words in the tweet, etc. If all else fails I’ll drop $20 on a Twitter ad and see if that works, although I’d prefer not to do that.

We also have a @crossculture account curating bilingual posts and running contests to support local communities. If you like what we do, please consider delegating to @crossculture or follow our trail 🙂

🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱

Sort:  

This is a very nice innovation.

Oh wow, this is a brilliant move to onboard more users and I believe it will draw Twitter users' attention to Hive. I'm in.

I don't have much followers on Twitter but every retweet with the relevant tags will go a long way! 🙂

I wonder whether I should promote my blockchain public domain library project to get people posting in #Anarchism?

We had a whole lot of people posting with that tag when I started at steem. We lost most of them during the reign of bidbots. Would be nice to bring some back.

How would you find those people though?

For now, I'll just write a tweet, add some tags, and see what happens.

I really recommend commenting on other people in that tag, otherwise no one will see your tweets. I usually comment once, wait for a reply and then add them if they are decent or interesting. Good luck!