You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sorry, I'm No Longer 69ing! Finally Made It To Rep 70 & Some Advice to Newcomers

in OCD4 years ago

Congrats on turning 70, old man.
I''ve been stuck at 67 (goes over to her profile to check) for ages. I should really post a bit more often, lol.

Although rep score doesn't matter that much anymore, it has bothered me for a very long time that people who started later than me, overtook me in the race. It's only recently that I stopped caring. A lot of that has to do with the recent Steem/Hive drama. I guess I kinda lost my... I don't know the right words for it... trust, maybe? Believe in a positive outcome?
I haven't stopped my power down on Hive yet. I think I will when I'm back at 5000 HP, but I'm not 100% sure. If I've learned anything from these last couple of weeks, it's that my investment is not safe.

I do want to get to posting and engaging more often again, though. Just need to find that happy place again.

Sort:  

Haha thanks a lot "young bean" 😂

About posting, yeah I know you've been finding it tough and lots going on offline but when I see that cheeky bitstrip simplymike cartoon profile pic appear on my newsfeed, there's some cool shit about to happen!

I guess with the rep thing, I wanted to prove to myself and others that it is possible to get to 70 and do it honestly through hard work and being around. Sure, there'll be people who get above quicker and sometimes it will be through some great support. I was only racing myself really and found it helped keep motivation going.

A lot of that has to do with the recent Steem/Hive drama. I guess I kinda lost my... I don't know the right words for it... trust, maybe? Believe in a positive outcome?

I can't deny that's had an impact on the way I go about things as well. It's still kinda raw although the dust is beginning to settle a bit, I'd imagine it will be 6 months before the storm will fully subside. I've been engrossed in the music studio so have been focusing on that seeing as I can control that.

I haven't stopped my power down on Hive yet. I think I will when I'm back at 5000 HP, but I'm not 100% sure. If I've learned anything from these last couple of weeks, it's that my investment is not safe.

It's your money so do what you feel is right for you. I'm going to powerdown all my Steem, get back whatever I spent on buying that 22k and probably move the rest to Hive as I won't be focusing on Steem... it's a ghost town there now with spam upvoters and no control on those who abuse the reward pool. I still want to be an Orca here so I'll stick around and I really don't think funds are unsafe here on Hive.

I know soft fork 22.2 was initiated to freeze accounts but from what I've heard on the grapevine, the funds were given back to JS? Unless you have 10s of millions of HP somewhere that you mined, I believe your funds are safe on Hive!

I do want to get to posting and engaging more often again, though. Just need to find that happy place again.

We all like a happy Simplymike! Stick around me long enough and maybe some of that blindly optimistic eccentric juju will rub off 😆