You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #theydontcallmenathen initiative......What was the first 'computer' game you ever bought?

in OCD4 years ago

It started with good intentions and people would bring along all sorts of machines to show off, but it degenerated into a copying club.

They all became copying clubs, it was much more fun then!

Sort:  

It is a little sad as copying does impact on the software business and I have worked in that a lot, but not consumer stuff. Same thing happened with music, which was even easier to copy. A friend ripped off loads of Amiga software, but I don't know if he played all the games. I bought a fair few games on Beeb, Amiga and PC.

I absolutely agree, but for me, it was the thrill of making the copy. I wasn't really into games, especially when they brought out those tricky loaders that flashed coloured screens as they loaded such as the US Gold games. Took some cracking!

I know some floppies could take ages to copy bit by bit. I was never into the cracking, but you have to admire the skills. I hope some of those people got decent development jobs.