[EN/ESP] Short story: The intruder / Cuento corto: La intrusa

in OCD4 years ago

int.jpg

English

I'd like to be a gnat to get through the slits in the door, and walk around every corner of that room. From outside, through the glass, the grille and the curtains, I can't see well the titles that are there perfectly stacked. They look like academic books, medical or legal, the owner of the house was a doctor. The others that are scattered are the ones that catch my attention. I can almost imagine the titles, the stories and the characters. I'd bet everything that those scattered on the floor are books of literature. And I want to go in and check it out.

int1.jpg

I really don't need them, in terms of the number of books, that room looks like my room. I also have books piled up, and others are scattered on chairs, furniture, shelves, even some on the floor. However, I don't have the same books as the owner of the house, I know that from the covers of the books. I'm tempted to sneak in
to find out who the authors of those works are.

The glass doors are sliding and the grille is unlocked. If I wanted to, I could hold my breath and go inside the house. And take a book. I don't think anyone would notice that absence. The late owner's son is not a reader, not to my knowledge...

If I could get in I'd check the piles of books carefully. Do they make any sense? Are they sorted by genre? By author? By year of publication? Maybe the order is random and I'm just fantasizing.

int2.jpg

If I were inside, I would take the brown one near the door and that book in the back, which seems to have a woman on the cover. I'd read them in a morning and then I'd return them, no one would notice.

That's what I would have done, if someone hadn't covered my mouth and pushed me back. Maybe I wasn't the only one interested in that pile of written pages, maybe I wasn't the only one who wanted in.

int3.jpg




int.jpg

Español

Me gustaría ser un mosquito para entrar por las rendijas de la puerta, y pasearme por cada rincón de esa sala. Desde afuera, por el vidrio, la reja y las cortinas, no logro ver bien los títulos que están allí perfectamente apilados. Parecen libros académicos, de medicina o derecho, el dueño de la casa era médico. Los demás que estan dispersos son los que atrapan mi atención. Casi puedo imaginar los títulos, las historias y los personajes. Apostaría todo a que los que están regados en el suelo son libros de literatura. Y quiero entrar para comprobarlo.

int1.jpg

Realmente no me hacen falta, en número de libros, esa sala se parece a mí sala. También tengo libros apilados, y otros están regados en sillas, muebles, estanterías, incluso algunos en el suelo. Sin embargo, no tengo los mismos libros que tenía el dueño de la casa, lo sé por las carátulas. Estoy tentada a entrar sigilosamente para averiguar quienes son los autores de esas obras.

Las puertas de vidrio son corredizas y la reja no tiene seguro. Si quisiera, podría aguantar la respiración y adentrarme a la casa. Y tomar un libro. No creo que alguien se de cuenta de esa ausencia. El hijo del difunto dueño no es lector, no que yo sepa...

Si pudiera entrar revisaría cuidadosamente las pilas de libros. ¿Tienen algún sentido? ¿Están ordenados por género? ¿Por autor? ¿Por año de publicación? Quizás el orden es azaroso y yo solo estoy fantaseando.

int2.jpg

Si estuviera adentro, tomaría el marrón que está cercano a la puerta y aquel libro de atrás, que pareciera tener en la portada la figura de una mujer. Los leería en una mañana y luego los regresaría, nadie se daría cuenta.

Eso hubiera hecho, si alguien no me hubiera tapado la boca y empujado hacia atrás. Quizás yo no era la única interesada en ese montón de páginas escritas, quizás yo no era la única que quería entrar.

int3.jpg

Cuando las palabras se desvanecen, la música habla (2).jpg

All pictures are mine, edited in Snapseed / Todas las imágenes son mías, editadas en Snapseed.

Sort:  

I do like the photos that you took, how one is hidden behind the wall. I may suggest trying to find a hard angle like lay on the ground and take a picture up. The books to provide fantastic shooting subject.

Oh, thank you so much for your appreciation, and for the recommendation. I don't know much about photography, but I really like that world