A little story.... about Hive's subreddit

in OCD4 years ago

Now I've been on this platform for a few days now, although not very active, I do drop by from time to time.

Admittedly, I am not really convinced of this concept, I see a niche movement that seems to want to remain one. A platform for people who made some money in a past hype and are now trying to milk the platform.

Maybe this is a little bit exaggerated/snarky, but I am quite surprised that I keep getting the same names and similarly insignificant content displayed on the general top feed.

But now to the story...

From time to time I talk to a friend of mine about various topics related to the crypto market, so at some point I got to talk about Hive. I told him about the insane story with Justin Sun, the hostile takeover and finally the creation of the Fork Hive. Our conversation wasn't really about the USP that this platform may have to offer, but rather about the events surrounding the hostile takeover and the Robin Hood, which at least made it more difficult to expand this policy.

A few days later I received a message from him, he had taken a look at the whole project or tried to get info through his usual channels. Now his first contact point was Reddit and this was probably the last one. I got a message ala "I will certainly get involved on such a platform. You will find nothing but self-promotion. At that time I didn't really know what he meant and told him to read something directly on hive.blog and get his information, because that's where the source is. I received another message "Here I find all those who were denied their voice on other platforms. I'll leave that alone. But please check out the sub on Reddit."

I don't want to judge this statement at all, but it seems to me that there are some people over present on this platform who would hardly be noticed in the other corners of the internet. But okay...

So I took a look at the Subreddit in the evening and see: https://www.reddit.com/r/hivenetwork/

You can't see a thing. Via the search it is not even possible to find the Subreddit in an intuitive way. I had to search other subreddits until I found the URL to the right subreddit. And then I... Well, look for yourself! A tragedy and a deterrent for everyone who hears about this platform via this way.

888

Sort:  

Do you have any suggestions on improving it?
It's kind of a paradox with the subreddit cause no one that already has an account here wants to use it, some do check it from time to time and answer questions if any arise. Back in the day on the other subreddit (r/steemit) we used to block post promotion and autoposters but that lead to it being quite dead.

Other than pinning some important posts, having the sidebar there for relevant links for anyone interested and then hive.io and the social tab on coinmarketcap.com leading to the subreddit I'm not sure what more we could do with it or even if it's worth it.

At least we're not faking subscriber amounts like most other crpytoprojects do to pretend there's interest when 99% of coinmarketcap's top coins have no users. :P

I saw there is a pretty good news article posted into reddit which describes the steem->hive transition. Maybe pin it

Thanks, and sorry for not responding to your comment. Would you be interested in helping out with the subreddit? We could discuss it more on Discord as soon as I find the time.

I don't have that much freetime myself, but we can talk about it.

Since I am not member of any Hive related Discord you can add me directly: st8z#4489

I can at least try to get my thoughts together. Basically, it would require basic information in posts that give interested newbies an overview of various areas:

1.) Why HIVE? I think it is interesting to find out what makes HIVE so special. And if we are honest there are some aspects that are interesting. One should point out the problems of existing social media networks and also what solutions Hive offers.
1.a) Censorship: Blockchain forbids (at least in theory -> see Justin Sun story) to silence opinions by single entities. This is (in a restricted form -> no deletion of content) only possible by the community,
1.b) Monetization of content: New possibility to monetize content in a p2p system without having to accept a deduction by middlemen.
1.c) Open Source: Technology that can be developed by any (capable) developer, but also by any community member. A technology that is in the hands of the community.
1.d) DPOS Governance: (Democratic) leadership of the platform by the community. (Certain overlap with 1.c)
1.e) Vision: THE technology that lays the foundation for social media in Web 3.0.

2.) Which projects are there on Hive? What experience can I gain as an AVERAGE social media user that I would otherwise be denied? How big is Hive really? (Keep in mind that 99% of people have no idea what Steem or Hive is. So you also have no idea that HIVE might be more than a Facebook 2.0. You should clearly work out the differences and show what projects already exist and what dimensions this might take in the future, as long as the project is (successfully) developed.

3.) Development-Process: It would be great if an interested developer, who stumbles across the sub-redit by chance, could get an idea about the perspectives of the current development debate, which ideas are in the room and which people are working on them. Surely some of them would contribute their (possibly critical) thoughts.

4.) General New to Hive: New projects, development updates & everything that could add value for potential users. And by this I certainly don't mean a link to a Hivepost describing how I get my 50 Dollaer CRO Token today or two posts about the user @rmsadkri running 5km in 25m 49s.

5.) The Steem-Reddit should redirect to the Hive-Reddit if possible, if this possibility exists here. I see that the moderators have different nicknames and this might not be possible. But maybe temporary postings in the steem-reeddit will be enough, because the activity there doesn't look very good.

6.) Show the history of Hive. So Steem -> JustinSun -> Fork -> Hive --> Vision

overall) You should just try to present some of the ideas that make this platform an exciting project. How to approach this in detail would surely need some more thought. But I hope you can do something with these thoughts I have put together in a hurry.

You are right and thanks for tagging me 😀 At least somebody is actually reading those reddit posts I have been posting regularly. Join @exhaust and have fun 😇
ra

Congratulations @st8z! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 comments. Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update
The Customization Guide for the HiveBuzz store