How To Use Twitter: A Guide For Hivers & #HiveChat Has Made It To Cointelegraph Espanol

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

First, I want to congratulate everyone who has participated in the #HiveChat event on Twitter because this energy has resulted in something amazing: Cointelegraph Espanol wrote a story on how #HiveChat has organically trended on Twitter in Venezuela.

cointelegraphsp.jpeg

Check out the story here: https://es.cointelegraph.com/news/spanish-hive-community-becomes-a-trend-on-twitter-venezuela

I am organizing the weekly #HiveChat on Twitter, so if you want to host one, send me a DM on Twitter.

We are booked up through September but October is open.

The host for the next #HiveChat is @pixiepost, and she's a super active and engaged Hive community member. The #HiveChat Espanol event takes place every Thursday, and is organized by @victoriabsb and @enrique89 (I think). She runs the @hivelatino Twitter account and that's where the #HiveChat is being hosted.

Twitter is a very misunderstood communication tool.

Here are some tips to make you more successful on Twitter. There have recently been a lot of people complaining about the avalanche of Hive tweets, and I want to stress one thing today: quality over quantity.

We don’t want the entire world and crypto Twitter community to associate Hive with spam, but that’s been happening a lot lately.

Tip #1: Tweet Your Personal Story or Honest Opinion

Make a tweet by telling you personal story or honest opinion and use the #Hive tags very sparingly. See this example by @mintdreams, founder of the Makeup Power community:
tweet4j.jpeg

Notice how she uses the #hive and #hivechat hashtags sparingly and in her sentence? Please emulate this style. She's a natural on social media.

Tip #2: Tweet About Other People

Write a tweet about someone else's content you value, even those who are not in Hive. It has to be geniune though, and not just an attempt to get their attention. Usually, if you find something valuable that someone else created, you can give them a shoutout on Twitter. See this example by @juliakponsford:

tweet1J.jpeg

Tip #3: Tag People In An Image To Avoid Listing People in Tweets

twitterHow_images.jpeg

Don’t write a long list of people to tag in Twitter.

If you need to tag a lot of people, post an image, then embed the people in that. This will stlll tag them, but it hides all their names. It looks really spammy to tag tons of whales in your tweet. Also, if your post doesn’t concern the people you’re tagging, then you’re just spamming them. Tag people sparingly. Don’t continue to spam Hive whales on Twitter. It’s not effective.

See and study this tweet to learn how to tag people (if you must tag people) in an image:

Tip #4: Use Hive Hashtags Sparingly

tweet2N.jpeg

The one exception to this is on Tuesdays during #HiveChat. Using the #HiveChat hashtag when you reply to a question is a must. I am talking about other times, outside of this event.

Hashtags are a way for people to find relevant tweets about topics they love. No one outside of Hive is searching for #Hive. We need to stop over-posting the #Hive and associated Hive hashtags because it’s not effective in bringing in people. It might work for certain people who are obsessed with Hive and don’t tweet about anything else. But when an army of people just endlessly tweets these Rah-Rah Hive hashtag tweets, it gets annoying.

Most of the hashtags you should use, should not be hive related. The hashtags you use should describe the content of your Tweet. What is your tweet about? Even if your tweet is about Hive, you can use these hashtags: #socialmedia #socialmediamarketing #cryptoTwitter #Bitcoin, & #crypto.

Whatever your passion is, you need to add hashtags that relate to your topic. Don’t use a ton of Hive hashtags because the only people who search for Hive hashtags are other Hivers. The whole point of us being on Twitter is to attract normal people from Twitter, who share our interests, into Hive. To do that, we need to be smart about the hashtags we use.

For example, I am into cryptoart. When I tweet about my newly released crypto art, I use the following hashtags that are from the entire field of cryptoart: #NFT, #ETH, #cryptoart, #digitalart, #rareart, #art, #hive. Notice that only one of my hashtags includes Hive. This is way less annoying that someone who only posts a ton of Hive hashtags. Doing that is actually a turn off to people who are not in Hive. We all need to get smarter on Twitter so we don’t turn off more people. Now is the time to learn how to use Twitter.

Here's another tweet that i found very high quality from @jongolson:

tweet3j.jpeg

Notice how he uses storytelling, and also he gives a compliment to the writer TimCopeland who wrote this huge article about the Steem wars. It's a perfect tweet and should be studied and emulated.

Ok, see you all at the next #HiveChat on Tuesday at 12 GMT.

Stellabelle

Follow both my accounts on Twitter for more tips:

@HivePeople: https://twitter.com/HivePeople
@stellabelle: https://twitter.com/stellabelle

Shoutout to my Twitter support pals: @traciyork, @hivetrending and @hivelift. You all make it all good!

And thanks to @theycallmedan for the recent HP delegation. That rocks!
If you want to delegate to a Hive go getter, do it for @victoriabsb
She is running the #HiveChat Espanol event on Twitter and imo she's not getting as much support as she deserves from the Hive community. She's one of those people behind the scenes getting shit done. Give her a follow and an upvote.

Sort:  

Very nice and useful post.

The community making it rock!!! in so little time and we have accomplished so much just by uniting our efforts!

Yes, Enrique is running this with me cause i drag him to it lol he does a lot of behind the scene work to make the #HiveChats in spanish as awesome as they turn out! lol

she's not getting as much support as she deserves from the Hive community.

I just want hive to moon then i will not need anyone support i will be rich on my on hive! lmao
i dont do it to seek support tho i love the community and actually wanna make it thrive, i get annoyed by meetings and talks so, i just go do the stuff needed done and hope it turns out for the better.

thank you for the delegation i wasnt expecting it but is much appreciated i will continue to curate little planktons and minnows with it!

I am happy you're here working. It's the least I could do to show you how much I appreciate your work.

Great advices! I'm not a twitter regular user, and this is useful. Thanks!

This is what I'm talking about! Thank you so much for making this post! We need to focus our energy to keep teaching people to use Twitter in a health way so we can keep making works like the one we could do in Venezuela to show our people that blockchain is the real way to be free!

Thank you!

Great tips! I can't disagree with any of them. Like you said, I just try to be genuine and add value.

Thank you Stella, when I'm going to write something it's because that's the way it happens and that's how I feel it. We don't need to be crazy and start saying nonsense because nobody wants that, we will quickly avoid it. Better to post a few real tweets than 100 saying nonsense

Thank you for the really good Twitter tips, I'll be changing the way I use the hashtags for sure to make it more meaningful!

Fantastic video. I really like how you explain on good ways to tweet & uplift Hive. This is definitely something everyone should watch. :)

Thanks for the shout out & see you on Tuesday for #HiveChat. I cannot wait to see you all there. :)

Upvoted by GITPLAIT!

We have a curation trial on Hive.vote. you can earn a passive income by delegating to @gitplait
We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.


To delegate, use the links or adjust 10HIVE, 20HIVE, 50HIVE, 100HIVE, 200HIVE, 500HIVE, 1,000HIVE, 10,000HIVE, 100,000HIVE


Join the Community and chat with us on Discord let’s solve problems & build together.

Yes, yes, and more yes! I've still got a lot to learn in the world of social media, especially Twitter. I'm always happy to add some more tools and tips to my arsenal. I tend to be "quiet", both in real life and on social media, so when I do say something I'd like to make sure it is having the impact that I intend!

Posted using Dapplr

lol, i have the opposite issue.
i am loud, obnoxious to some.
i used to be a doormat letting people walk all over me.....alchoholic too.
in order to break this, i had to become my drunk self, but in a sober state...
i had to be very loud, and express myself........bc i held in everything for a long time.

The world needs a little bit of all of us, though, doesn't it? Not doormats for sure, but softness and strength, loud and quiet, etc. I can definitely understand the need to express yourself if you were so used to holding it in for so long. I have had to work on boundaries in my own ways for sure, and still feel like I am finding my voice in my own unique way. Lots to learn from you and many others for sure!

Hello Belle
I opened a HIVE account finally :)

Excelente información, cada día se aprende algo nuevo, estaré atenta para seguir tus consejos. Un abrazo desde Venezuela. @stellabelle

Excellent information, every day you learn something new, I will be attentive to follow your advice. A hug from Venezuela.