You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Furlough Life

in OCD4 years ago

PAIs NOT pies? Ah shit... I got this whole thing messed up!

Yup! This whole furlough thing has messed with a lot of people's rhythm in a lot of different ways. I was lucky or unlucky or lucky to work throughout, I'm not sure if it is lucky or unlucky with hindsight. I work 12 hour shifts in a food factory so was designated a key-worker from the off.

I never questioned it, never thought of 'missing out' on anything it just is what it is I thought. I have long detested my job although a recent bout of positivity, optimism and renewed vigour has dulled that particular pain significantly. Funny how the mind and the attitude can work together, huh?

I never really envied those who were being paid for being off because I knew economically we will all be screwed over for many years to come in ways we can not even begin to imagine. At times I did wonder how nice it would have been to have a little extra time off work BUT as time as gone on I realise maybe I am in the number who are lucky.

My routine hasn't been affected too much in anyway throughout this whole experience. Maybe I should be counting myself luckier than I first suspected. Although now may not be the best time to focus on that thought as I am about to go and work a 7-7 nightshift!!! Just the one, as a favour to someone at work. I have 2+ weeks away for work still so it won't scar me too badly lol.

Enjoy the weekend Asher :)