You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Longform is dead

in OCD • 3 years ago

STANDING OVATION! 😎

When I begin to write, I carry on until I know I am done and I have covered the topic I wanted to cover sufficiently. We have spoken about something along these lines in the past Taraz, I reach a point beyond which I know no-one (almost), will read:

But I am not done.

I know I had an aim when I set out, something I wanted to convey or examine till a natural conclusion was at hand. I could quickly give it a 2 paragraph conclusion and head off to bed but this would not be in keeping with the speed and flow used up to that point, in short, if I did this there would be a dent in my integrity. No one else would see it BUT I would know it was there.

I do not work in the corporate world as far as my writing is concerned, which is probably a good thing as my punctuation errors would give me away fairly quickly. I wholeheartedly wish I had taken onboard the rules of engagement when they were being offered, some 30+ years ago and I could write professionally today.

So although I am not in a corporate content field, I am an avid consumer of content and as the old adage goes 'I know what I like'. Short form content has a place and god knows it certainly has an ever-increasing audience, but it is akin to an appetiser when one is ravenous for the main dish. When one is presenting a uniquely simple idea that has perhaps 3 key points to drum in to the psyche, short form works, although it can certainly feel gimmicky, 'dumbed down' and a symptom of an ever diminishing societal attention span.

There is an organic (or deliberately focussed) evolution of how a corporate entity or it's key drivers are viewed, this can only be done effectively with a sufficient amount of information being communicated over time, with nuance, humanisation and finesse. Without this we get a 2d representation of the entity in a 4d world.

There is no substitute for substance.

'Fabulous analogy alert...'

For depth and continuity, the scenes have to include background actors that still support the storyline, without breaking the attention and focus of the target audience. Otherwise, it is like watching a Victorian period piece film complete with puffy dresses, white wigs and horses, where someone suddenly roles up driving a Tesla 3.

If the message is not fully understood, it can NEVER be communicated effectively, if is handed between multiple communicators, this can be iffy, every parent views their baby differently and has a slightly different vision of how they want them to grow and develop.

I may have hashed the message with shoddy understanding, ineloquent communication and trademark random wanderings but my real reason for wanting to comment here was your proclamation that brings me some hope:

Longform will live on.

I certainly bloody hope so.