30 DAYS BLOG CHALLENGE || DAY 14- MY THOUGHTS ON EDUCATION

in OCD4 years ago

My thoughts on Education

Looking back at my educational journey so far, it been quite an interesting one. (Before the covid break)I went into a nursery school, and I checked one of the classes, you have to see how serious this student were, and I decided to check the subject and it was Maths as expected but I was surprised to look closely at the calculation and I realized it was addition and subtraction, at first I was like No Way, you can't tell this ones hard, just 1+1, 2+2, but then I remembered it is easy at this stage for me, but to them it still seem like a hard nut to crack, I bet I was as serious as them when I was at their stage (that's if I was ever serious).

But education for me is somewhere between Good and Bad (that will be goodbad). With a mixture of good Teachers, bad teachers wicked teachers, Nice Teachers, Cool Teachers, sleepy teachers, hyper teachers ( I personally dislike this ones, they can teach for a whole day, without been tired), interesting ones and boring ones mingled with friends and bullies also.

But overall it was a fun experience.

While Speaking of Education itself: I personally think education does more good but quiet a good number of bads also.

N.B: Speaking from my end, I can't tell of other countries.

I think our educational system is become outdated and out of shape. Education has remained just the same as in the 20th's, and this has well played out in the rate and degree of which the unemployed population has increased. This is the 21th century where computer has taken over most of the jobs, with more precision and accuracy, only then do we realize we were educated but not to function in this Century, so instead of embracing technology we try to surpass it by studying, BsC, PhD, MSC e.t.c (the list is endless)

Another major flaw I've noticed in our educational system of today, is the fact that I think we've only succeeded in pushing informations into the brains of the teens but we pay no time in developing their metal ability: comparing the pressure on the average teen nowadays to that of the
20th century, with the introduction of technology and platforms such as Instagram, Facebook and other social media, the pressure to be successful grows higher by the day and introduce different factor into the lives of our teens today, we are now in a era where everyone wants to look more successful than the other guy next door, and in cases whereby they are not able to meet up, it lead to thing like depression, feeling unworthy, feeling like a failure, so we only educate them and push them out there to face a world they are totally unprepared to meet. Instead of educating them to choose their own path, we keep mute and when they are out there they pick the highest paying job, so we end up having workers who are unhappy and impassionate about their jobs.

I think our educational system has a huge role to play in preparing the teens for the real world out there, but the system is only designed to stuck up some calculation in our brain, but never teaches us how to deal in/within the environment and people we find ourselves.

We still have a lot to do about our educational system, at least here in Nigeria.

But for now we'll made do of what we have.

Thanks for your time and attention and you can also join me and a host of better writers than myself, like @starstrings01, @macchiata, @wolfofnostreet, @lauramica,@pejupops, @officialuroga, @janettyanezwho are already in this challenge, make sure to check their challenge posts also as you would find great contents. The goal of this challenge is to help increase our engagement and commitment on the hive blockchain and also help in the issue of not knowing what to write about. I hope to see you on the challenge soon. Bye for nowimg_0.008030080409435343.jpg

Sort:  
UpvoteBank
Your upvote bank
__2.jpgThis post have been upvoted by the @UpvoteBank service. Want to know more and receive "free" upvotes click here

Congratulations @suffgrace! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day