You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Showcase Sunday: Krypto Kids

in OCD4 years ago

I invested in some startups which has a high risk level but with some solid foundations.

It also has higher barriers to entry and is somewhat dependent on location. What I find interesting with crypto is that almost anyone (with internet) can find a way to invest and even small amounts add up.

I do agree though, for mnay or perhaps most, other investments will have done better, but it will definitely depend on when one bought. A lot of people have bought Steem at 11 cents, and if it goes to a dollar, they are likely to outperform even some of the best traditional investments.

As an example I stole this from @newageinv :

While Netflix was the best performing stock of the decade with over 3,000% returns, bitcoin outperformed with over 13,000% percent!

Also on Steem , there is the social side of the investment, which has a lot of value (for me) on top of the monetary. It is pretty cool to be able to write for my buy-in to investing, something that I never thought I would be able to do.

Lots of volatility and uncertainty to play with :)

!ENGAGE 30

Sort:  

I do agree the gain in value in crypto will likely be much higher than any traditional investment. Question is: Which coins will do good and which coins will end up worth nothing. My reality is that most of the coins around today will end up without any value. Amongst them maybe even some of the top coins of today.

With the concept of crowdfunding, everybody is able to invest small amounts in companies. I'm talking about those crowdfunding platforms offering convertible loans or equity. With 10 dollars one can already participate; At least on some of those platforms.

Which coins will do good and which coins will end up worth nothing.

Ye age old question :)

I think you are right, most will die. The ones that will survive are those which have some use case and a community willing to use them. Which is why I think Steem has legs.

I actually thnik crowdfunding is going to be a very strong usecase on Steem, especially through delegations and voting for shares. So will microloans. Lots of little economic possibilities that just need a large enough user base to get off the ground

Steem has a lot to offer; We need strong marketing though; Not only to the public, but also to businesses. I think Steem would do very well when some FIAT money is thrown at developing services and bringing these to the market in business like ways.

Yep, definitely. I think that it will be easier once the community focus for earning from the steeminflation pool is moved to SMTs instead. That way, Steem becomes a haven for developers to build upon all kinds of things.

I think we need to remove Steem distribution based on voting for the communities to work; Otherwise focus will still be predominately on earning Steem.

Very likely. But the idea upsets many. Eventually though it will be, invest into holding steem or don't.