You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On love and for loss

in OCD4 years ago

I find that the social game in life kind of puts a strain on actually feeling what we feel. It's almost a form of love-blocking because we are so busy re-enacting kind behavior.

This is a good way to illustrate it. so much of what we do these days is just re-enacting - most of it on autopilot. People talk about being present, yet that automation of our processes makes us anything but.

!ENGAGE 20

Sort:  

I think for me, when I am not present, it's because I'm trying to escape some aspect of reality. I started being much more picky with what I take into my world, and it's easier to be present when being surrounded with things and people that I really enjoy. I feel like so much of my energy used to be taken up by "managing" reality. To almost refuse to look at bad relationships and that way enabling them in some way. I took the advice to believe people when they show me who they are or how they feel. I usually have all the clues. I just needed to open my eyes. It's a beautiful world now. Being more authentic took away a lot of cognitive dissonance also. Thank you for thinking back at me. Have a nice day!

it's because I'm trying to escape some aspect of reality.

There are so many ways to do this now - so many distractions claiming to be important.

I started being much more picky with what I take into my world, and it's easier to be present when being surrounded with things and people that I really enjoy.

My brother (@galenkp) would say, "design your life, don't live by default". The default conditioning at the moment is to be a passive consumer, not an active creator of our reality.

Being more authentic took away a lot of cognitive dissonance also.

Life is much easier as we remove internal conflicts. Social media generally encourages living the lie, but I hope that it can change to living one's truth instead.

You are most welcome :)
It looks like you are pretty new here too, so welcome to Hive and checkout some of the communities :)

!ENGAGE 20

I think your brother is right. The trick is to figure out what my own design would be. I was thinking about the whole state of the world today while watching the American election debate. And it's like how life is with all these distractions. Many years ago I found myself in a very nice job which had an incredible amount of workplace drama. I was so focused on who did what and what did they mean and confusion. And then my mum said to me (she was a therapist :) ) You know, if they keep on doing that, you will get tired of them and leave. And I realize that she was so smart there. She brought it back to, what is my interest and viewpoint. Not why are they doing what they do, but rather is that environment a right fit for me. I will always remember how she framed things to give perspective. I find it interesting now with the world being thrown back and forth in a way with all these opinions. And sometimes maybe people could just stop and think "what do I care for?"? So I am also into that advice that your brother would say. I'm really thinking about what that really means though so that I can apply it, you know. Do the design. Thank you for the welcome!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.