INTERNATIONAL GIRL CHILD DAY - I'M NOT A PLAGUE!

in OCD2 years ago

White Illustration International Day Of The Girl Child Instagram Post.png
Designed by me using Canva


My life has always been a mess since the time I knew my left from right. I've often had this same question ruminating in my head, but I'm yet to have an answer to it.

Hmm! since when has it become your fault for being born? I'm still in my early teen, but what I've been exposed to passes the experience of an adult.

Why? Or is it because…? Hmm, I don't even know what to think of it. One particular thing I'm sure of is that I deserve better than this, and what I need is a voice to speak for me.

I know you are eager to hear my story already. Don't worry; who else would I tell it to if not you? So journey with me into my world, and let me know what you think.

Do you also think I'm a plague for being born?


My name is Omotara (Tara for short). I am a young girl of 17 and grew up in a family of six, three boys, a girl, and my parents. I'm the only girl child and the third position.

Growing up, I've always seen how my father treated all his children, making me wonder why he chose to treat me differently.

Uloma, my friend, will not seize to tell me how her dad pampered her, took her out for fun, protected her from danger, and all of a sort.

But it is the other way around in my family. I remember my mum telling me about my father's hatred for a female child. The hatred grew so much that he refused to sponsor my primary education.

I thought it was the duty of fathers to protect their children, but that rule has no effect in our home.

My father created his rule that “all household chores must be done by me, including washing my brother's clothes.”

Of course, my mum has no say in the house; the only place she has authority is in her office—the kitchen. My father always reminds me how I'll end up in the kitchen like my mum.

He has often told me I have no value and there's no point in him wasting his hard-earned money on me to further my education when I'm still going to end up not bearing his name. “You are useless” is his everyday mantra.

He told my brothers there was no point in respecting a lady; even my younger brother now treats me like trash. I lost family love just because I'm a 'girl child.'

His lack of love for me exposed me to sexual molestation. I couldn't tell anyone that I had been sexually active at an early age. I don't believe it's my fault; I was out looking for the love I lacked.

If only I weren't seen as a plague in the family, if only I had sound sex education, if only I felt safe and loved, I wouldn't end up feeling useless and throwing myself on any man that promises me LOVE.

I'm dedicating this to every girl child out there that is being treated like a plague.

Being a girl child is not a disease; let's stop this gender-based violence and discrimination. Treat every child equally with love, attention, and care.


I AM NOT A PLAGUE; I AM A GIRL CHILD!


PS: Parents, treat your daughters with love, invest in their education, believe in them, and protect them.


Thank you for taking out time to visit my blog🙏😘


Sort:  

I'm a bit confused here. Your tags say fiction and writing. If this is fiction, that you should have posted it in The Ink Well, which is for fictional stories. If it is about your own life, then it should have landed in Ladies of Hive community.

Now which one is it? Is it about your life or a fictional story?

Oh! I didn't know there is a community for it; I searched but didn't see a community to post it.

I'm really sorry if I've made a mistake.

It's a fictional story. How can I rectify it? @erikah

You can't now. Leave it here and you post there net time. Don't delete it with the intention of reposting it as that is considered abuse.

Alright, thank you. I will keep that in mind next time.

You're welcome.