"Temporary Stand-down" ? I'm on Unpaid Leave due to Pandemic

in OCD4 years ago



Picture Source: asiatimes.com

Well, this is awkward. I literally just said that I got really busy into office work on my last post, and now I don't have a job (temporarily I guess). Schedules just got cleared :/.

screenshotmail.google.com2020.06.jpg

I woke up to this email and honestly it got me a bit concerned along with frustration and anger. There were no warnings and advance notice that this was happening. While the probability of getting fired during this lockdown was always there I figured I was quite safe as my job allows me to work remotely as well.

I work at a medium-sized business where there are lots of departments, including the software department where I work. Most of the departments were already on leave due to the pandemic, but the IT department was allowed to work from home on full Salary. Able to work remotely is one of the best things about this industry and honestly, I didn't think we would also go on unpaid leave, but it is what it is.

Although the email says that it's only a temporary decision, we don't know how long the lockdown will last. The number of infected is still growing and we still don't have a vaccination for it. Many fear that the second wave might be even more disastrous.

The virus has already affected every sector of business, economy, and livelihood. People are wondering when their life could go back to normal or if this is what's going to be the new normal for a few years. Lots of people have already lost their jobs. What concerns me is how much this will affect many people financially and mentally. There are people who were living off regular paychecks and now have no sources to pay their bills. There are already lots of reported cases of suicide and the toll of the coronavirus pandemic is only beginning to show itself.

I am fortunate to have good health both physically and mentally, and some savings which will suffice me for at least a few months. I'm also glad that I put a hold on a few purchases that I was going to make. I also have a freelance project going on, so I should be good for now. However, some of my friends are not that lucky and they have some tough days ahead. I hope the office or the government do something for those who are in difficulties. In the meantime, I've also started applying for a few companies that are hiring for remote work as we should always consider the worst-case scenario which for me is long term unemployment. Hoping for the best.

Stay Safe Guys.

Sort:  

I am also one of the victims due to the pandemic. Our government imposed 2 months lockdown since April. All of our company employees are on unpaid leave during that lockdown. After that lockdown was lifted & businesses were reopening. I am able to join my office again from June. But the cases of COVID-19 patients are increasing every day. I am living in the capital of our country. Covid-19 patients are everywhere. The area where I am living declared as a Red Zone. But due to the current financial status of mine, I was literally forced myself to work in my office. There is nothing I can do to protect myself safe instead I expose myself every day by going to my office. I need to work to keep myself financially stable during the pandemic. But in the worst-case scenario, If I am affected by this deadly virus, I can't even imagine what to do. And the government is planning to impose lockdown again from tomorrow as the pandemic situation is now even more disastrous & beyond their control. There is nothing I can do but pray.

We are on the third month of lockdown and the consequences are quite obvious now. Businesses have suffered a lot and many have to take drastic decisions.
Sorry to hear that you are going through hard times, it's either stay home and get affected financially or go out to work and risk getting exposed to the virus. It really sucks.
I hope you're taking safety measures to at least reduce the risks of infection. I hope the government helps all the affected people in need as the pandemic will probably last for who knows how long.

Stay safe, and I hope everything will be ok.

I'm sorry to hear that, hopefully you'll be back in business in no time. Wish you good luck and I hope you'll find some other means of income in the meantime. There are mad times we live in, the money I used to get are worth less and less since the prices of goods are surging.

Good luck to you and everyone!

Yeah, hopefully everything will be back to normal.
In the meantime, I'm currently doing a project, which basically is an eCommerce website and mobile application for a grocery store. I'm building a mobile application with Nativescript-Vue. I know I took the gamble with this but so far my experience with Nativescript is good, very easy to use, and surprisingly fast as well. And it works on both Android and iOS with very little code changes. What are your thoughts on this?

My only experience with web technologies turned into native technologies was with Ionic Framework using Angular. It was indeed easy to develop, but the performance and responsiveness of the app I made was horrible. I was doing this at my last job, and they used an ancient version of Angular, maybe that's why 🤔🤔🤔. Overall a bad experience, but from what you're saying Nativescript-Vue is a different beast alltogether.

Terribly sad to hear about that, mate. It's certainly hard these days, and even with remote working, there's no telling if those businesses can sustain employees' salaries. I hope you'll get back on your feet, and straight into that office soon! For now, it's good to hear that you've applied for a few jobs, and I hope you get those too.

We might just have to embrace this new normal of uncertainty until a vaccine is ready, and even then, there's a year or two of adapting back into what we used to call ordinary. The second wave is currently the biggest concern, though if we can sustain our progress, and flatten the curve, it might be permitted to reopen sooner rather than later. Take care, and stay safe :-D

Yeah, the decision is immediate and lots of us didn't have time to prepare. Businesses are under huge losses. Our senior told me that the management is planning to layoff lots of its employees, so although it says that it's temporary stand down, lots of people are going to lose their jobs.
I'm not a "core" employee so I risk losing mine too, so immediately I started applying to remote positions.
The new normal is scary as we don't know how long this is going to last. I wish the government changed the modal of the lockdown so that businesses can function a bit. In the meantime hoping for the best.

Stay safe my friend. :)

It's certainly a new normal that we have to get used to, as hard as it may have been for everyone. The good news, is that your work can be done pretty well even remotely. Difficult as it is, we're rather fortunate compared to some others, as we can still function with a computer and internet connection, as a lot of jobs in retail, and others that requite physical contact is hit pretty hard right now. A lot of my mates are out of work, as well.

Stay strong, and we'll all get through this in no time. Adapt, and conquer. Good luck with the work, and be sure to always stay safe :-D