Who Am I: My Introduction

in OCD3 years ago

My name is Timothy Sunny am from Nigeria ( in Africa) this would be an introduction and I also would be talking about how I found Hive. @lovesniper @fionasfavourites

istockphoto-502584486-1024x1024.jpg

My Interest
I had a love for programming and hacking from a very young age and have always been fascinated by how computers work ( both hardware and software). Am currently in the university majoring in computer science, because I couldn't find any other course to spend 4 years doing. Am a programmer and I have worked on some projects in the past, am into web development mostly backend, I fell in love with Python and became familiar with Django
I developed an interest in writing during the lockdown, and since wanted to be a content creator. I tried YouTube but I suck at editing and my PC doesn't make it enjoyable so I decided to write.

I tried writing on medium, but there was one issue, I couldn't earn from writing on medium, most of you may have heard of medium partner program something like that, but it looks like it wasn't made for Africa, it's not available in some countries in another continent, medium used stripe and I don't think stripe had Africa in mind when it was created, as I had to search for a different platform.

countries-supported-by-stripe.png

Counties supported by stripe

The Discovery of Web 3.0
I was into cybersecurity or bug bounty ( I have seen a page about bug bounty on Hive), I knew about web 2.0 but not sure why I have never heard of web 3.0 ( maybe I never asked or checked, because the idea of web 3.0 actually started before Bitcoin)
I am not really interested in Bitcoin, I know how it works and the technology it uses, I knew a lot about Blockchain and even tried creating one in school, but was never really hooked on the idea of cryptocurrency ( but I understood the message they were trying to send).

But the idea of web 3.0 got me hooked, I spent nights trying to cover all of the years I missed, I tried to learn a lot about it.
For a web that knew no border and wouldn't deny access to others in another country, and a site that was owned by none and owned by all
For sure this would be a major development to the internet as a whole, and I wanted to be among does that contribute to the development.

I found the community
It didn't take long to come across one of the DApps in the Hive Ecosystem, I researched about the Hive Blockchain, and what I discovered was mind-blowing, the fact there was a Blockchain which also had a social aspect to it with DApps like Peakd, 3Speak, Dbuzz, Actfit and more ( these are the ones I have used so far, I tried playing the games but not all work on Android), the idea was stuck in my head, I was hooked for real this time and I don't mind putting my time and money into this ( maybe this was the idea some people had about Bitcoin in 2009 that kept them mining and spreading the word)

The issue I had while researching about Hive was there was not that much article about Hive online even on YouTube only a few videos talked about Hive, and for some time I thought Hive was a Bitcoin mining company in Canada ( there is actually a company called Hive Blockchain Technology)

I would try my best to get the word out there for others to hear about this new online world we are living in.
I have written a lot of articles to post on the Hive Blockchain, but I write on my phone ( I would get used to it soon), my PC was stolen like 2 months ago, I would soon get a new one, immediately I get a new one I would definitely join the Hive development team and I would probably create more DApps.

How to Contribute to the Community

I would encourage others to spread the word, create more contents, and join the development team if possible.
Thanks for Reading

Sort:  

Keep motivation on this community mate... there is a lot to discover here... !ENGAGE, have some !PIZZA, !BEER or !WINE if you like...

!LUV the interaction so far =)

Thanks, I really like the community, I have received a lot of welcome.
Thanks for the tokens.

Connect

Trade


@timsunny! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @forykw.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Oh dear, I am sorry to hear that your PC was stolen! Great intro and good to meet you @timsunny. I also abandoned Medium - some time last year - for similar reasons. I'm also based in Africa. Stick around on Hive, engage with people - as you can - and I'm sure that you'll find your way around.

Good luck with your journey!

No worries,Thanks, I really appreciate the advice, it's really nice to meet someone from Africa here and thanks for Reading.

You are welcome. There are quitena few Africans on the blockchain. especially from Nigeria. Just keep an eye out and you will find them. You can also search for #nigeria. Tags are another good way to find blogs and people who share your interests

Oh I forgot about tags, thanks.

Congratulations @timsunny! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks for the upvotes, this definitely built my confidence.
More articles coming in the future.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.


Hey @timsunny, here is a little bit of BEER from @forykw for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I really enjoyed reading about your journey and how you found Hive! I always like posts that really share with people and invite others to make a connection 😊

Glad that @fionasfavourites brought you here! hehehe

One of my favorite things to do is to find people who are actually here for engaging with one another genuinely. It's not always easy to do that hehehe Sometimes you find a few people that do - but they aren't online consistently. Sometimes you find a great community - but don't really connect with everyone there.

It's difficult to find that perfect mix of people that you enjoy reading about and also have the time to commit to commenting and supporting and upvoting too! hehehe

But I really enjoyed seeing your mind displayed in this post. You seem like someone who charts your own course and finds what works best for you - no matter what the majority thinks. Nice to meet you! and I hope you thrive here!

More wins💯💯💯