New Zealand Adventure - Queenstown-Part 1

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Please note: Origional post is on my channel.

Welcome back and welcome to anyone new to this blog.

So far in New Zealand I've only writen about my experience of the North Island with one exception, Dunedin

If you remember from that post I mentioned that I was about to discover "the real New Zealand".

Well this is where it begins...

Queenstown

20171226_164842.jpg

Queenstown was the first place I visited where the "real new zealand" began to show itself. It's a small town located in a stunning area, right on lake Wakatipu

Perhaps I was lucky when I was there, like many scenic locations it's all about the weather and the only day I had really bad weather was the first morning I woke up, but that soon changed, quiete dramatically may I add.

If you want to read the full story, I posted a blog about it a long time ago, although somehow it didn't get much attention.

Anyway, you can read about that here

Most of the time however the weather was sunny; and when the weather is good, the vibe is good.

The Town

The town itself is a small, quiet(ish) place during the day. I like the little green area's they've added despite already being surrounded by natural beauty.

20171226_161908.jpg

The place can be a bit of a party town at night. The amount of backpackers walking around getting drunk is rediculous! But saying this, it's a very clean and well looked after town.

20171224_221732.jpg
A random wine cart with no one attending it...easy money.

There's a famous burger place called FergBurger which apparently does really nice burgers. Whether this is true or not I don't know but the que to get in went down the road, so obviously a big hit with tourists! Word of mouth relly gets around quick these days thanks to social media.

Here's the que...

20180101_025608.jpg

Yeh...I wasn't kidding

20180101_025616.jpg


Going for a stroll

Queenstown is a beautiful place, the surrounding scenery is mind blowing at times.

I went for just a short treck into the woods nearby and got some really nice views just 20 minutes walk away.

20171229_163306.jpg

After trecking through unexpected, pipelines, boulders and small cliffs the terrain finally opened out.

20171229_171935.jpg

I couldn't quite belive the house where I was staying was so pefrectly located. After days of failed hostel and air bnb bookings, I ended up in a house with this down the road...

20171229_151305.jpg

20171228_161507.jpg

Next to the beach is a small park where you can play frizby golf which is exactly as it sounds but instead of a hole, there's a target with chains hanging which catch the frizby. I've not played it but I vet it's hard! However, if you walk around the edge of the park, you get to wittness yet more stunning views.

20171228_162703.jpg

20171228_162657.jpg

20171228_162024.jpg


The Lake And Beach

First off, I didn't even know there would be a beach here...I mean the surroundings are mountains and greenery. Perhaps a stony beach but not this.

20171225_170241.jpg

20171231_193549.jpg

This lake, trully is the highlight of Queenstown. Looking over the lake is simply awe inspiring.

20171225_173003.jpg
Beach Party!

Speaking of the lake, there's two activities which really stand out which I had no idea were there prior to arrival.

Fly Boarding- Where you basically "fly" like Iron Man as jets of water spray from your feet.

Hydro Attack - A speedboat shaped like a shark which also goes underwater like a submarine. I concidered doing it but after watching it fly all over the place, my stomach and I agreed to give it a miss lol.

I also considered Fly Boarding but A, I bet it's really hard and B, the water was freezing. I found that out after a brief morning swim.

Also, if you look up to towards the mountain you might spot some paragliders.

20171228_111924.jpg


The Basket of Dreams

I had no idea this was here! I'd seen it on a post somewhere in the past. Probably facebook or instagram.

I was simply walking up there for hopefully a good view at the top. Little did I know the views on the way up were pretty awesome too.

20171226_164845.jpg

I had no idea where I was going, just found a path to walk up and followed it. But then I came to this doorway.

20171226_165425.jpg

Next to the doorway was a message...it read:

20171226_165413.jpg

So I continued up the path which went from a simple path overlooking the town, to a windy path through the woods.
20171226_170755.jpg

Finally, when you get near to the top you've then got to find it, there are no signs from the gate I mentioned earlier. But that's ok, I guess since it's a basket of dreams that made sense.

By the time I reached the top, the weather had changed. The clouds rolled over and the wind started to pick up.

I took a few wrong turns, one leading back into the woods but eventually, I found it.
20171226_174323.jpg

The Basket Of Dreams

20171226_174858.jpg

20171226_174919.jpg

As I stood there overlooking the mountains surrounding the lake, I felt a sense of achievement.

No, not just finding the damn thing but everything I'd done up untill that point.

I was standing in the basket of dreams...living the dream, but I wasn't dreaming. I was really there! Thousands of miles away from freinds and family who were busy with their working lives. It felt pretty unbelievable to be honest.

After that I found a spot to take the picture I came up here for.

20171226_175928.jpg
*Ruined by the weather, but whatever. Still worth the climb.

There was me thinking that was the end of the trail but there was another path leading...who knows.

20171226_175650.jpg

Now it started to rain and from the looks of the clouds, I knew it was going to pour so I headed back to the accomadation. I got back just in time for a big downfall! 🌧🌪


There's alot more to this place than meets the eye. You need to spend at least a week here as I did. Queenstown is a great base to explore other places. What places you ask? You'll see in a later post...hopefully.

There is two more activities that really stand out here, one of which made me fear for my life. Can you guess what it is?...

I'll be posting about those next time.



As always, thank you for reading

I've not been posting recently as my @travelfeed app is not responding or opening at all. It's been nearly a year since I have posted without an app so I appoligise if the layout is really bad.

Also, I'd like to thank @travellingbug for her continued support of my blogs. (Apparently they're a good read)

Once again, thank you.

Please note: Origional post is on my channel.

Sort:  

You have recycled this post 4 different times. Farming over $150 from 4 different communities.

Source
Copying and pasting previous posts or significant parts there of could be seen as spam when:

  • Reposting the same content without additional original content or significant changes
  • Reposting content within the same payout window

Spam is discouraged by the community and may result in the account being Blacklisted.

Please refrain from copying and pasting previous posts going forward. If you believe this comment is in error, please contact us in #appeals in Discord.

Flagged for posting the same content 4 times in different communities.

Great post, @tomatom! I was in Auckland and Christchurch last year and it was a life changing trip. I'll never forget it. I love the depth you went in to. Thank you for sharing.

Hey thank you, I've been down recently and no job due to cov 19. I thought since i have all the time in the world, I'll post. I'm amazed by this community already!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest 830.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow!

Thank you, and thank you @ocd for upvoting my post. I'm still new to this community feature and I didn't want to post (spam) my post more thsn once. Any advice on posting to communities would be greatly appreciated.

Wow! What a great journey! I always dreamed to visit NZ and Australia. Maybe soon I'll able to! :)

Hopefully I'll be able to convince you ;-)

It looks like a very interesting place.

Do you think posting the same post in four different communities is ok?

Your welcome bubba il always support you it’s what girlfriends do :):) fab post and OCD is obviously the platform to do ur future posts on - dont let a misunderstanding stop you from doing what you love and r amazing at 💋 I adore u ❤️