You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I DO NOT support AI generated text as Hive post

in OCDlast year

Although I do agree that AI-generated text being passed off as original content should not be rewarded (on Hive or elsewhere), I fear that it’s going to be exceedingly difficult to stop.

As a university professor, I’m convinced that there’s no way we can continue relying on essays as a way to gauge student learning and comprehension.

I’ve taken steps to make it harder for my students to rely on AI to write their essays, but it’s an uphill battle that’s only going to get harder.

Even with OpenAI’s classifier, all the students need to do is revise the essay enough to fool the classifier, and eventually other AI tools will do that for them.

Sort:  

We will do what we can. Just like what you are doing for your students. We will make it difficult

I was talking with hubby about this just yesterday. At some point the only way to be sure in schools may be to go back to writing by hand. It seems ironic in many ways, yet it's only really a generation ago that we all hand wrote essays.

I actually had my first encounter last week with a student using ChatGPT to write assigned essays.

Quite frankly, I noticed that the essays were 'too good'. When confronted, the student initially denied using any generative-text tools, but has since come clean.

As I stated in a post about ChatGPT several weeks ago, educators are going to have to abandon essays as a means of measuring student engagement and comprehension (unless the essays are written 'by hand' or proctored).