Book Review: You Should See Me In A Crown

in OCD β€’ 4 years ago (edited)

πŸ‘‘ Book~Review πŸ‘‘β£
I was born royalty, all I have to do is pick up my crown - Liz.⁣

IMG_20200802_204442_071.jpg

⁣
This is a story about a young black girl with aspirations in life. And in order to achive her dreams, took an alternative option (of which is entirely different from her usuals), since her major plan which is the stepping stone for her failed.⁣
That's all, I'm giving because you've got to read this, not gonna mess it for you.⁣
⁣
πŸ‘‘β£
This read throws spotlight on the themes white supremacy, parental/ guidance expectations, homophobia, anxiety disorder, genetic disorder, queerness, friendship, love and loss.⁣
⁣
I'm not much of a contemporary YA reader but I feel I want to explore that genre well enough.⁣
⁣
‒‒‒⁣
Liz the protagonist is passionate character I admire despite all odds, especially been black and not affluent. Her friendship from the start has me screaming when!!!! to this type of friendship.⁣
I was just damn happy, she wasn't those type of black girl that gets to tame herself because of who she is. I was seriously praying for her to own it.⁣
⁣
I couldn't love her less when she realize they were not going to make a space for her to fit and she had to demand it. Girl, the energy to this 😍.⁣
It reminds of the series POSE FX.⁣
⁣
Most of the characters were admirable too I must say.⁣
⁣
β€’`‒⁣
We got to see how white supremacism played it's role right from time, and I was so glad history was able to be made despite that.⁣
⁣
πŸ‘‘
One of the things I've learnt from this read is, how important communication can be. It can unite and break bridges at the same time. A reason why I always talk about never assume, about how a person would feel. Clarity on this can be achieve through communication.

I felt happy and was like, who doesn't love a happy ending πŸ’πŸΎπŸ˜Š.

Rating: 4.5/5 🌟

Sort: Β 

Congratulations @uche-nna! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 28000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 29000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the last Hive Power Up Day