When I was young...... :)

in OCD3 years ago

image.png

I don't think a lot of you, except the people from Holland, know Bassie & Adriaan. Bassie & Adiaan are two heroes from my childhood. A clown and an acrobat who have experienced many adventures and were on television every week. I have passed on the Bassie and Adriaan virus to my children :). They used to watch it a lot when they were smaller. How nice was it when I read that there was a bassie and adriaan exhibition in Vlaardingen. I (we) just had to go there. My sons at first declared crazy, they are now a bit older, but we went with the three of us.

image.png

Bassie and Adriaan started as an acrobats duo. They were then called the crocksons. They had an act with chairs that they stacked on 4 bottles of champagne and on which they stood with a handstand themselves. For that time a very dangerous act with which they achieved great success.

image.png

A disadvantage of being an acrobat is that it is an injury-prone profession, especially bassie was often injured. That made them decide to quit as acrobats. Adriaan then became acquainted with the Circus and so they eventually started a duo of a clown and acrobat, in a real circus.

image.png

I can still remember very well that I went to the Bassie and Adriaan Circus in Utrecht with my parents and brothers. you won't forget anything like that :) It was great.

Because of their nice performances they were more and more asked for TV appearances and that is how they rolled into the TV world. She made great series that always had something educational. It was not only fun to watch, but you also learned something from it ...

image.png

one series was Bassie and Adriaan and the teasing ghost. A bully ghost played with chubby cheeks and a mean smile, my little brother was terrified of the bully :) .. The clothes of the bully was also on the exhibition.


Source

After this series they made many series about the different countries in which they showed all kinds of fun facts about these countries in the series. For example, they made a tour of America where they of course also had a great adventure. By the way, not so long ago, there was a guy who looked up and filmed all the recording locations of bassie and adriaan in europe :) That says something about the impact of bassie and adriaan, right?
They also have their own YouTube channel and it is visited a lot. They have won YouTube awards themselves.

image.png

They have been successful for years and entire generations of children have grown up with them. Just look at myself and my own children. Bassie and Adriaan are now elderly, Basssie is 85 years old and Adriaan 78. They have also had a lot of setbacks in recent years. Adriaan has lived in Spain for quite a few years now, enjoying his old age. Until he was diagnosed with esophageal cancer. He has undergone a number of major surgeries, which has also made it difficult to speak. Bassie also has a lot of health problems at the moment, fortunately Adriaan is doing well under the circumstances.

image.png
(they are a bit older aren;t they ? :))

Loved seeing the exhibition. It was not big, we were through it in half an hour but we saw a lot of nice things, memories from the past and share that with my sons ... That was just great .... (and of course the 400 kilometer journey)

image.png

Of course I had to have the one and only Bassie and Adriaan cap .... I just can't put it on when I go out with my family lol !!

Just a bit of nostalgia on this Saturday night,

Good evening,

Peter

Sort:  

They have had a long career. Younger performers may not be able to match that. Show business is just so different now. Good to see they had success online though.

Fun hat!

!BEER

No indeed, times have changed for that matter (more matters actually). Not a lot that last for decades anymore. Not to mention these kind of caracters which will amuse kids for generations :)

Cheers Steve have a !BEER


Hey @steevc, here is a little bit of BEER from @verhp11 for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

hhahahah duuuuuude that is a long time ago man!

havent thought about them for ages

Hahaha that's a long time ago for sure. Maar ik was vroeger helemaal wild van ze, en ook nog jaren met mijn zoons bekeken...helemaal geweldig :)

That is pretty awesome. I have never heard of these two before, but that makes sense that they were such a big phenomenon over there. That is cool that you were able to go see the exhibit and remember some great stuff from your childhood. I would have been scared of the bully too. I hate clowns.

hahaha my oldest hates clowns too..... I always tease him with it... But it was big fun remembering and having a great time with my boys..


Hey @verhp11, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.