You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Does Memorial Day Really Mean?

in OCD4 years ago

Denise, I've been to Arlington Cemetery twice and it is a somber place. It really makes you think about the sacrifice. There is also the Dallas-Fort Worth National Cemetery. I haven't been to it. I think it's about a 45 minute drive from my house. I'm just so sad that they did not allow volunteer groups to put American flags on each grave this year. Each family can put one on the grave, but not large groups. The cemetery didn't even let the family of a 95 year old veteran man (that died recently in the Dallas area) have the usual military burial ceremony for him. I felt bad for them. Maybe later...

Sort:  

The graves at Arlington were covered. Living close is like a blessing and a curse.

Just before Memorial Day weekend, the 3rd U.S. Infantry Regiment (the "Old Guard") honored America's fallen heroes by placing American flags at gravesites for service members buried at Arlington National Cemetery and the U.S. Soldiers' and Airmen's Home National Cemetery.

I know of the angst of not being able to bury a family member. I am waiting to bury my brother and he deserves the honor as he died from sustained injuries. I could have let them bury him, but, I wouldn't be able to live with the rest of the family. So, we will wait. They have rescheduled it for October unless the numbers continue to surge. The family should have already called the cemetery or the line for the services to reschedule so they can get in the long line ahead of them.

They are not having normal burial services, although they will allow up to 10 at the gathering. It is harsh, but to tell you the truth, the civilian sector is also treating funerals in the same way, some even a little more strict.

Anyway, the National Cemeteries are usually beautiful and well maintained. I stroll through many a day. They are usually steeped in history.

Thanks for stopping by! Have a great week!

!tip

🎁 Hi @violetmed! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.