Ten tips I wish I knew when I started my vegetable garden.

in OCD4 years ago

incredible-backyard-vegetable-garden-hs.jpg

During the current lockdown, gardening is booming but we’re still early in the season. So if you're still sat on the fence, and undecided if you should give growing vegetables a go, take a look at these 10 tips, that I believe will definitely help any beginners grow a more productive crop of vegetables.

As an advocate of ‘no dig’ gardening, there is no need to dig or double dig beds before planting, simply because I believe you damage soil structure and waste your time. I simply mulch soil with compost annually, rather than laboriously digging it.

Although I'm no Alan Titchmarsh or Monty Don, I do possess a wealth of horticultural experience after making a living designing and building gardens in my younger years.

After seeing a raft of common mistakes, here is a lists of 10 common mistakes and how by following a few simple tips, you can resolve them.

1 Sowing too early

Don’t believe everything you read on social media (especially this blog), as so-called "experts" may still give the wrong advice. Sowing carrots in January is unlikely to produce a rich harvest, and I doesn’t even sow runner beans until May.

The reason for this is an obvious one. Despite warm spells at this time of year, frosts can still bite and cold winds are common. These over night frosts can can kill off tender plants and send you straight back to square one. First blindingly obvious tip is to carefully read the backs of seed packets, which should tell you when to sow. Veg particularly vulnerable to frost include courgette, squash, runner and French beans and sweetcorn.

practical_guide_to_watering_garden_635810717_768x576.jpg

2 Overwatering

People often overwater, especially at seedling stage. As long as the soil is damp, seedlings will begin to germinate and until new shoots start to sprout, there’s less need for continuous watering. Overwatering can leave little roots flooded, which could kill off these delicate plants from lack of air. A simple tip is to lift your seed trays – a well-watered one will feel heavier than one needing water – but make sure it’s not too weighty. You’ll quickly learn how to judge what needs water and what doesn’t.

3 Loosening soil

Some gardeners believe that plants need soil that has been loosened, by hand digging or by rotavator, to allow them to spread their roots. I say firm soil is better and has its own natural, healthy structure of drainage and aeration. Now I'm not denying that different plants thrive in different soil conditions, but most will be happy to just be planted, fed, watered and kept weed free.

I'd go as far as saying, that If you put a good compost mulch of at least 2in on your beds, without digging it in, it should provide all the nutrients your plants require and you won't even have to plant a new shrub or other plants with a compost mix to get them started.

IMG_20200423_114946.jpg

4 Spacing plants or seeds too far apart

I learnt very early on that this can result is a massive under-use of space in your garden, as well as extra work to maintain the unused space, which is often colonised by weeds. As a starting point, space about one third closer than recommended and you’ll be surprised how many extra plants you can grow. Vegetables which are regularly planted too far apart include onions, lettuce and beetroot. Which makes these 3 a fantastic place to start for people with small plots who want to grow a lot of produce in a restricted area.

5 Over-feeding plants

Although feeding some plants like tomatoes can boost crops, I recommend feeding soil life instead with a mulch of compost on top of the soil and leave it undisturbed, which is the basic mantra of a "no-dig" garden. Plant food is then available through biological interactions, such as the work of naturally-occurring mycorrhizal fungi, but if you overfeed plants you cause an imbalance in growth and potentially encourage more leaf, less fruit and more aphids.

Screenshot_20200423_122105.jpg

6 Over-complicating transplanting seedlings

From personal experience, I dont recommend hardening off seedlings, providing you cover new plantings in spring with a fleece - hay/straw (or other material) until the weather warms up. Vegetable seedlings which don’t need transplanting include carrots and parsnips, which you should plant where they are to grow in the garden. This is simply due to the fact that if the "tap-root" gets damaged in transplant, it can result in wonky vegetables.

7 Compost confusion

Too many gardeners often spend too much time picking out garden debris which they think is unsuitable for the compost heap. I say that it’s perfectly okay to add blighted tomato leaves and stems, bindweed roots, citrus peel and rhubarb leaves, which will die if they are continually smothered by other composting matter. Have solid sides to your compost heap to keep warmth in and don’t turn it more than once. Let nature do her work, and by next year you'll have a fantastic homemade compost ready to go direct on your garden.

8 Use of slug pellets

I try and grow as organically as possible, plus these are poison to hedgehogs and other soil organisms. If like ne you enjoy spending as much tube outdoors as possible, then you can keep in top of pests manually with no need fir harmful chemicals.

9 Lack of summer sowings

Why do so many gardeners just sow seeds in spring? It will result in empty space and rampant weeds by autumn. Make use of the whole growing year. Sowing beetroot in late June, fennel and lettuce in July and rocket as late as early August keeps your garden producing for almost 12months of the year.

10 Costly high raised beds

You fork out a big expense on wood, membranes and gravel, and leave yourself a lot of wasted space simply because of the density of each block of wood. Instead, you can create a much lower area by covering the ground you’re earmarking for your vegetables with cardboard and then covering that with a 2in-thick compost mulch. He says you don’t need any sort of barrier at all to keep the compost in – as it should settle naturally. It's a little more messy, but you can grow most veg successfully. If you want you can grow carrots and parsnips in deeper beds, and that would be my only justification for building high raised beds.

IMG_20200423_123516.jpg

Sort:  

To keep the slugs away I use a small bowl with a little beer in it. The slugs love the stuff so much they get pickled!

Beer is the best of man's inventions IMHO.

It seems a shame to waste beer on slugs, but they are a nasty pest. I go out hunting them some nights.

Screenshot_2020-04-28 Corona Meme Generator - Imgflip.png

I've just started my first ever batch of seedlings, I think watering is the most difficult part so far as I can't be sure if the compost underneath is too wet or too dry.

Btw, you do you know you can use headings to make your headings stand out by adding between 1 to 6 # before the headings (wow that was a lot of headings 😅)

I did not know that. I only found out I could center my pictures last month using < > those things. Lol

10 great tips, very well done!!!

Saw this was trending on Steem thanks to some paid votes. Seems to be a popular option over there, but I hope Hive can be more organic.

Keep digging for victory!

I have no intention of using bought upvotes here on HIVE, for fear of getting smashed to $0 by the downvote police. I don't really have any whales or big players following me, so it's the only way I can get my blogs read on steem. I wish there was a way to pay for a bigger audience to view my posts with no financial loss. Steem has gone back to the old West ways of "anything goesc, and I'm OK with that.

Does buying votes really get you an audience. I was looking at the Steem trending and some posts there had zero or a few comments, some from bots. Two guys had bought votes to get the top 5 places between them. For now there are not many vote sellers on Hive. I wonder if the Promoted posts feature could make a comeback. We do have communities. I see you post to curation project communities, but will people go there for something to read? I would be more like to go to a gardening community for posts on that topic. We just need to build up those communities. It really is down to slogging away at building connections.

I wonder if Steem can sustain that sort of activity. Maybe someone will prop up the price, but people are just leaving in droves.

I had great hopes for communitys, but most people will follow the "upvotes".... What I mean by that is if ocd offers the potential for dropping a $1 upvote and his curation trail for posting there against droppi g a gardening post in a gardening community with 5 members and $0 upvote return, I know where 99% of people would post.

I do try and put a lot of effort into my blogs and some take me several hours to put together, I really do want a lot of people to read what I write! Otherwise there would be no point in going in to alit of detail, putting in time and effort.

As for buying upvotes on steem, I've only done that these last few days and I've seen my interactions with Steemians shoot right through the roof. I've increased my followers and I've never had so many comments from people that I don't usually talk with (silver/gold stacking members).

As for the longevity of steem??!!?? Who knows. I've heard JS is popping the price up till he can find a path to dump it all with out taking a loss. Only time will tell I suppose.

And thank you for the shout out about my gardening blog in your post. Cheers.

Part of me values a decent comment like yours above a $1 vote. $1 is not going to change my life. I post because it's fun and I want to help build communities. I am trying to build one of guitarists as I love the music and creativity. We would make nothing for our posts elsewhere, so anything is a bonus. If HIVE goes to several dollars then we will all do okay anyway.

I have a job that pays the bills. Hive is what I do for fun.

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @tibfox and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

Lovey carrots @welshstacker 🥰🌺🤙