You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Youtube VS Hive : Here's What I Learned

in OCD2 years ago

I agree with this one because of the analysis of @/dalz about the word count vs. rewards earned. While word count is not a very good metric to determine quality, it gives an overview of the underlying trend here in Hive. If I'm not wrong, the sweet spot in terms of the number of words is 1000-1500. Beyond that, the rewards seem to flatten. It means there's no incentive to go beyond.

Another trend I noticed is that those who consistently churn out quality content (this is based on my stint as Pinmapple and OCD curator) tend to be seen as "over rewarded" if they're consistently curated. So I agree with the earnings limit. While this may seem to be seen as negative, we have to factor in the token distribution and even the interaction.

That's why I like it here. There's no pure content creator and pure content consumer. Everyone is both a creator and consumer. It means everyone is in equal footing in terms of receiving potential rewards. No one will become pure content creator.

While it's good to compare different platforms, one must not compare just for the sake of comparing. There should be good understanding of the underlying context before attempting to make a comparison. Mac's effort is laudable because it stirs up discussion.