My Nigerian Youth Service Corp Camp Experience

in OCD8 months ago

How do you feel or what do you think about starting your life all over in a whole new place, without family, friends or any known person at all?

Well, right after your studies in the tertiary institution comes the 1 year NYSC (Nigerian Youth Service Corp) program. Completing a year of service with the NYSC is mandated by Nigerian law, and thus made a necessity, except based on a permissible exemption. The aim is to foster inter-communal unity and peace. In exchange, the corps members receive a monthly stipend from the government.

The program states off with a three-weeks camping in which Corp members are trained to be physically fit by the men and women of the Nigerian Army and The Man O'war as well as several lectures and skill acquisition programs. At the end of the 3 weeks, corp members are being assigned to different work institutions especially the education sector, to carry out their primary assignment.

I left my home that Wednesday morning with a fully packed traveling suitcase, headed to the park to board a vehicle to take me to my destination in another state (Abia). This is an Eastern state dominated by the Igbo tribe. It wasn't my first time there but it would be my first time spending a night .

I arrived at the camp really late due of the delays at the park, that wasn't my best of days because I was really stressed out but then i settled in after the entire registration process and got my khaki..... which is the outfit designated for only corp members.

Making new friends was quite difficult for me but after some days it got better. We were shared in groups called platoon and I was in platoon 10. Fun guys and dubious as well but camp was great fun with them.

Wondering why we were on white?
Thats the only regular outfit we are meant to be on at the camp.

I tried out the volleyball team, difficult game really and that was my first time. I got a broken finger during training and with the help from the Red cross society, i got better and fit.

The coach did well offering to teach the girls, sadly we lost at our second match.
We also had trainings with the Man O'war which was really scary but fun. According to them, this hard work is to make us understand certain things about leadership not being all glowly but straining and sacrificial. It was also to stress about the essence of team work, well i tried to have my fun while i got my hands and clothes dirty.

We also had an opportunity at the skill acquisition class and I registered with the paint making class which I would really love to share some other time. I had learnt alot and i appreciate the efforts by the officials.

Although activities were quite tedious especially the army routines, I'm still grateful for the little fun i had, the people I met and every other fun activity that I was involved in. After 3 weeks, we were to leave camp, it was quite emotional for some persons while to others was happiness to leave the camp.

I am grateful for the opportunity to serve my fatherland which is to me a thing of joy and fulfillment. And a proof of completion of my studies in the university which has made my parents so proud of me. I am most thankful to God for this as well as the hive community where i have been able to raise money for my necessary needs to accomplish this.
Thanks guys
Much love from my new location