You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does A Bear Falling From a Tree Develop a Phobia? A Collage for LMAC #105

I didn't know about this phobia either, until very recently, and what impresses me the most is the name.
I've thought a lot about fear. As you may know, my stories tend to focus there. I think anyone who fantasizes about scary stories has to engage with it. You can't play with fire without getting burned, even a little bit.
My present fears are more sophisticated elaborations (perhaps) of my childhood fears. I fear the dark depths, just as I used to fear the dark universe under my bed.... They are a source of creatures, of possibilities of you being trapped and left wandering blindly in an infinite womb, absolutely alone.
And maybe if I look at it a little better, this fear is a childish fear of abandonment (maybe).
Now, a fear is a fear. It grows with us and eventually we can rationalize it or sublimate it (which is what I do with fiction), however, phobias seem more complicated, because of the genetic component involved, if I understood your article correctly.

A Big hug, muy dear @agmoore