LMAC #55: Elves and Fairies

shaka 55 template 5i.jpg

shaka 55 for border.jpg

Do elves and fairies wander around LMAC land this week? How can they not? The photo @shaka offered as a template is so evocative of elfin mischief that I found the lure irresistible.

Shaka's Photo
shaka 55 template.jpg

shaka 55 for border.jpg

Every culture has its myths. Call this folklore, call it fairy tails, call it legend. The esteemed mythologist, Joseph Campbell explained, "...myths bring humans to understand and accept birth, growth and death".

The website, First Things, (from the Institute on Religion and Public Life) speculates that perhaps, "Analogically, 'fairy stories' encapsulate metaphysical truths...there is no necessary 'logical' connection between cause and effect...the universe is not...subject everywhere to the very same natural laws".

Whatever the reason, people from many cultures and belief systems welcome the idea of fairies. In this blog I'm going to offer a few examples of how people see fairies in different parts of the world.

flower for accent.jpg Elves, Fairies and Spritesflower for accent.jpg

When I think of fairies, the first place that comes to my mind is Ireland.
fairies Book of Fairies and Elves Frances Jenkins Olcott ill Milo winter 1918 public us.jpg
Image credit: from the "Book of Fairies and Elves" (1918) by Frances Jenkins Olcott. Illustrated by Milo Winter. A Project Guttenberg book, public domain.

It has been said that W. B. Yeats (Nobel Prize-winning Irish poet) believed in the existence of fairies and collected fairy stories from people in the countryside, especially from elderly woman. These reporters he saw as the true keepers of Irish lore.

Among Irish fairies well-known to the world are leprechauns. These little fellows (leprechauns apparently are only male) are, unmistakably, a symbol of Irish tradition.

leprechaun pixabay.jpg
Pixabay:

According to mymodernmet.com, leprechaun legend may be traced back to the eighth century. One story from that century is cited, The Death of Fergus mac Leiti, which tells of a king who is tricked by water sprites. The concept of three wishes arises in this story.

For centuries, leprechauns wore red clothing, but over time this changed to green. Eventually, an association between leprechauns, rainbows and pots of gold evolved.

A leprechaun may be your friend, or your foe. You do not want to irritate the little fellows or they will bring much mischief on your head.

shaka 55 for border.jpg

Mount Horai, Japan, Where Fairies Reside
Mt Hôrai by Hirai_Baisen,_Showa_period,_c._1930 public mythical island.JPG
Image credit: Hirai Baisen, 1930. Public domain.
No one has ever visited Mt. Horai, because it is a mythical place. However, tradition has it that the people who live there are quite small. They have tiny bowls to eat from, and tiny homes. The fairies of Mt. Horai have no knowledge of evil and their hearts never grow old. Though they themselves may die, they never suffer.

shaka 55 for border.jpg

El Duende, From Latin American, Iberian, and Filipino Folklore
Duende Goya 1789 public.jpg
Image credit: Franisco Goya, 1799. Public domain

According to the website Owlcation, the tradition of El Duende has been handed down to children across Latin America for generations. Parents warn children that this gnome-like creature lives in the forest and lurks behind the walls of homes. El Duende may come to trim the toenails of slovenly children, and sometimes may take the whole toe along with the nail. And yet, El Duende is reported to have a good side. This dual nature may be seen in many mythical fairies. Children may be told that if they get lost in the forest, El Duende will guide them home.

One website, Paranormal Encounters, offers this sinister bit of lore: El Duende sometimes barters with mothers for children so the goblin may make a meal of them.

shaka 55 for border.jpg

Menehune, Hawaii
Menehune on_Surfboard'_by_D._Howard_Hitchcock,_1924 D. Howard Hitchcock public.jpg
Image credit: D. Howard Hitchcock, 1924. Public domain

According to legend, Menehune are very small fairies, between six inches and two feet tall. The website tohawaii.com explains that these 'little people' are believed to have inhabited the Hawaiian islands long before Polynesian settlers arrived.

The Menehune are mischievous and extremely skilled at crafts, such as building. They enjoy dancing, singing and archery. Favorite foods: bananas and fish. To some people on the Hawaiian islands, these fairies are not imaginary. They are believed to exist and to exert influence on human activities.

shaka 55 for border.jpg

Huldufólk (Hidden People), Iceland
Hildur queen of elves George pearson engraving public.jpg
Image credit: George Pearson(1815-1876). Public domain

This engraving shows Hildur, Queen of the Elves, as she is making her yearly visit to the Kingdom of the Elves. In Iceland, elves are serious business. A BBC article in 2007 reported on a poll that revealed 62% of Icelanders "...believe that the existence of elves is more than a fairy tale". The article describes the elves as "interdimensional, human-like" beings". Huldufólk are peaceful and helpful. Still, according to the Baltimore Sun, Icelanders do not want to offend their elves. Roads are rerouted and plans for homes changed, if it is believed elves might be disturbed.

shaka 55 for border.jpg

My Collage

In making my collage I was a little like a goblin. I borrowed bits from digital pictures I'd previously drawn and put these bits together in a way that made sense (to me). The pictures from which I borrowed were not 'realistic'. They were impressions.

The flower heads
flowers in my collage.jpg

were taken from this picture
shaka 55 swamp excerpt.jpg

The miniature white tree and stems for the flowers were taken from this picture:
shaka 55 field excerpt.jpg
The elves came from this picture also. I just added green skin and pointy everything to make the figures look elf-like. By the way, my elves are nice :)

The well came from this picture:
shaka 55 well blog.jpg

Elves and fairies have a long association with wells. It has been said that some elves live under wells, so I thought this might be a fitting addition to the collage.

shaka 55 for border.jpg

@shaka offered us a perfect picture this week, one that was magical, in my view. The elves were inevitable. It was fun making this. I'm a little embarrassed to be showing my very, very naive personal pictures, but I think the selected elements fit in a forgiving, magical collage. Elves are not perfect :)

shaka 55 for border.jpg

If you are just learning about LMAC, then I invite you to check out @shaka's blog. There you will find many collages that reflect an amazing array of creativity. LMAC is the most welcoming community. There are no bars to participation. As you can see from my collage, not everyone is an artist, but everyone has fun. There are prizes, but this is not the lure. The lure is the community and the creative adventure. And, there is an #LMAC collage school, taught by the incredibly talented and patient @quantumg:)

Thank you, @shaka, once again for extending the invitation to create. It's a great pleasure, every time I try my hand at one of these.

lmac graphic3.jpg

Thank you for reading my blog

fox and squirrel friendsgif.gif

Hive on!

Sort:  

Today I was learning about the Mohegan Tribe and they described little people in the woods who are good spirits that must be treated with respect...here is a link: https://www.mohegan.nsn.us/explore/heritage/our-stories/makiawisug. I love your blog- and your collage!

What a wonderful link. This is a great story and shows the universality of the 'little people' mythology. This is as true as any belief. It serves and important function.
Thank you so much for visiting and contributing this information :)

What a nutritious reading, I am a fan of your collages and your stories, I am fascinated by magical worlds, elves but on top of that I like fairies... this is a lovely collage, subtle, as every week I enjoy your work my dear friend🤗

Dear @berlissanoja,
Thank you, friend @berlissanoja. Though you have great skill, you welcome my simple collage. I can see in your work an expansive and accepting worldview. Your kind words echo that perspective.
I love doing these, and it is a pleasure to be part of a community of creatives.
Good luck tonight with your remarkable visual confection.

My dear friend, art, be it simple or very striking, has its own charm. Your art is beautiful and fascinating.🤗

🌸🌞🌸 💛

I already mentioned it in the general post, but I want to tell you here: your collage is very, very cool.

Dear @abncabrera,
Cool! What a wonderful thing to say about my collage of little peaceful fairies. Thank you so much for your visit and for that very kind assessment.
Good luck tonight with your lovely, joyful collage.

A wonderful collage AG.💞 The charming land where the fairy people may reside. I believe in them and the Tuatha De Danaan.☘️

I love stories of fairies, leprechauns, banshees and all the Irish folklore. My mother came from Co. Mayo.

Thank you my dear friend, for the appreciation of my simple collage and for enjoying my blog. Thinking back to when I learned to read, fairy tails were the door that opened literacy for me--that and comic books :) So, I've always felt an affinity for the fantastic (though not horror!).
My husband's parents came from Cork and Roscommon, and my kids are interested in exploring that heritage. I think it's great. The more heritage the better.
Keep having fun, and stay well :)

Thank you very much for that generous tip!

Most welcome dear AG. :)

Have a wonderful Wednesday!

Hello, excellent collage where you capture the history of the adas, elves and goblins. These are legends of the countries. Some people say that goblins are evil beings, that is to say, the devil that causes harm to children.

Thank you my friend. I really appreciate your visit and your generous comment. Reading about goblins and fairies, discovering how so many cultures share this idea--reminds me how much people are alike, despite their apparent differences :)

It is very nice to read you @agmoore.
When people talk about goblins and magical worlds I also think of Ireland. It may be due to literary influences.
I loved to see how the mushrooms were moved. I also loved the details of the shoes, hats, and ears of the elves. What do they talk about by the well? hahahaha I am very curious... and what will be in the well?
Great greetings and thanks for this visual fantasy show.

Hello @marcybetancourt,
Thank you for your visit. When I write these posts for LMAC it's almost as though there is a collaboration between the verbal part of me and the nonverbal. The nonverbal is adolescent--new, and undeveloped. But I'm patient with its limitations :)
I appreciate your kind words and your generous appraisal.
You will do well, as you ought this week. A really spectacular collage.
Warm regards,

wow wonderful post :)

Thank you very much! It was fun to write.

!discovery 35

Thank you very, very much for the encouragement and support.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Hive is a friendlier place when @discover-it stops by. Thank you very much :)

The edited image looks like a well known area in my town. I like the new environment added to the previous image

Thank you, friend @dwixer. I would love to see a picture of that well-known area.
Good luck tonight with your wonderful, magical collage.

Thank you and wishing you same

It is better to have them friendly and far away, but according to what only appears to children.

Hello dear @tormenta,
I saw your wonderful "wormy" collage and will visit later. Thank you for coming by. I love fairy tales and myths, so this blog was a natural for me. I wish you very good luck in the contest. Your picture should be one of the winners :)