You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Zoos: Are They Ethical? My Collage for LMAC 135

I am honored by your visit, @abneagro. Your sympathy for the animals, and your respect for all living things is inspiring.

I'm stunned by the hippopotamus escapade in Colombia. What selfish, irresponsible, ignorant behavior. I guess in a way this is an example of how species evolve. Whether continents shift, ships travel or people deliberately transport animals, nature is not fixed. We have to adapt as species adapt.

Thank you for this most interesting response to my blog. As always, I learn from you. Have a peaceful day. I look forward to reading your next blog.

Sort:  

That's right, many species manage to adapt perfectly to other very different places. Hippos in Colombia have found a paradise, since they have food and rain all year round, as well as large water reserves and, above all, no predators. In Africa, where they originate, these animals have lions as predators, but in Colombia they live like kings because they have no natural controllers. There are many negative aspects that this brings to the ecosystems of Colombia, the main one is the competition and displacement of the native species of that country (Colombia).

I was looking for a video in English where they talk a little bit about these animals that nowadays are becoming an invasive species in Colombia, I will leave the video here so you can know a little more about this case.

I hope you also have a nice day @agmoore, greetings :)

That is amazing. It seems there is no happy solution to this problem. I have read some more about the subject since watching the video. It seems the government has declared hippos to be an invasive species (June '22), and the remedy may include hunting them down and killing them.

What I think of when I read this (besides the unhappy outcome for the animals) is the economic resources diverted to deal with the hippos. There is already great need in Colombia. That money could be used for education, healthcare and other programs to help the poor.

Thank you for sharing the video with me. I will post it on Twitter, if you don't mind.