You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Do We Dream? My Collage for LMAC #179

in Let's Make a Collage11 months ago

Thank you! I love the research you shared. Found an article from Harvard Medical School that talks about it:
https://www.health.harvard.edu/mind-and-mood/are-toxins-flushed-out-of-the-brain-during-sleep

All those people who brag they function well on only 4 hours sleep are perhaps cheating themselves and paving the way to cognitive issues.

It's kind of creepy but reminds me of what the body does with programmed cell death--apoptosis. I believe the lymph system carries these dead cells away, too.

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

There might be some people able to sleep only a few hours, but the majority needs a good 7+ hrs of sleep. Otherwise, the brain doesn't flush properly and over the long term, problems develop. There might be some exceptions because at the neural level at least, we're not all created equal. Thanks for this thoughtful information, though I'm not keen on thinking about my dead cells just yet. heh