You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hunting: My Collage for LMAC #194

I never meant to suggest that you find joy in hunting. But hunters do.

A hunter gets up close and personal with the source of the meat.

O yes, they do. And they don't mind at all. They enjoy the outdoors. They enjoy the camouflage. They enjoy the guns. They enjoy the culture.

It's not that I'm closed minded. This issue is not new to me. You can't imagine how much I've read, how many videos I've watched. How many news casts I've listened to.

Sort:  

This issue is not new to me.

It sounds like you're very passionate about the issue and have done in-depth research that has led to your current viewpoint. So, I can see where you're coming from.

Personally, I'm opposed to some forms of hunting practices but not others. At the end of the day, as you said, we're all hunters if we eat meat. How close we want to be to the final act and procedure is another matter. My grandmother used to raise chickens. I once saw her wring a chicken by the neck and throw it in boiling water to cook. I had the pleasure of defeathering the bird and realized at that moment that I wanted no part of the process. I do think others should have the right, within reason, to get up close to their game, as long they follow the proper laws.

Kind of like religion and politics--issue that people feel passionate about cannot be discussed dispassionately, I guess.

I always value your input, but you're right (my landlord used to chop their heads off, but I never had to defeather😕)

Hope you are having a peaceful day now that we have put this topic aside😆😇