You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LMAC #46: The Arctic Camel

Dear Anna,
I just visited you blog. Oh my heavens. What can a history addict say about this? The wonder of those relics! The Tabula Peutingeriana--I'm also a map addict. I enlarged my screen several times so I could see the details. Wonderful insight into life in the late Roman Empire. And the delicate papyrus...the way you trace the evolution of language and script.

It's hard to say I have a favorite of all your blogs, but this one comes near the top. The past lives in these artifacts. These were not works of art created to impress, but tools of every day life. And so they bring us closer to the people who created them.

That's a great description of how papyrus was made. Makes me wonder about the first people who sorted this out and used the invention for recording transactions, thoughts, histories.

Thank you for a spectacular trip to the distant past. Tonight, as I'm preparing to sleep, I will enjoy the pictures on my iPad. What dreams may these images bring?

From a peaceful corner of New York,
Affectionately,
AG

Sort:  

Dear Ag,
Wow, what an enthusiastic feedback on my post about the Papyrus Museum, thank you so much! Of course I had to think of you when I wrote the article.

Knowing you are a great history lover, I think Vienna could be a place of desire for you in this respect. Here, history comes across you at every turn, not only in museums. I 'm glad that I can pass on my enthusiasm for ancient cultures in my blogs. If I get then such a wonderful feedback, it makes me very happy and motivates me to continuing my journey through history.

With thankfulness and great affection,
Anna

maat5393348_1280.jpg🌟🌟🌟
🌷