You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Flight of Icarus: A Collage of Omens for LMAC #39

in Let's Make a Collage4 years ago (edited)

Dear @agmoore,

In my humble opinion, It's a nice informative documentation blog. But I think it's not an attractive image. It didn't make me look at it more. There can be more creativity.

What I mean with creativity and attractiveness?

I don't mean that let you use more clear images. (Also using more clear images is a plus for me). There is too much unrelated details. Yes you tell the whole story within one image but in the end you lose the wholeness of the image. I know it is not a really easy job. Also You use too much different material types. (Photographics, illustrations, brush effects, motion...) Of course, there is no limitation for medium, but the diversity of medium you use, makes it harder to combine them in to one and disrupts the wholeness of the image you create. Also you use these media just ordinary.

These are my critiques in response to you.

I wanted to remind you. I passed a competitive exam for fine arts high school. I passed a competitive exam for fine arts university. For both i passed general education exams. Both exams have their own specific standard juries. Because of this my teachers always prepared me for these juries. Studied pencil drawing for 4 years, studied sculpting with many kind of materials like metal welding, carving stone, carving wood, modelling clay, bronze casting etc. and serve as a sculptor for 7 years (sometimes they still call me for sculpting jobs) studied in 1 year graphic designing software course, work as a graphic designer since 2013. I worked in many kind of hardcopy and digital works. I am not an art historian nor art theorist, but I have always had to be intertwined with them.

You can be sure that all this accumulation makes my job difficult.

There is a lot factors that manipulates our reality and point of view.

In this kind of election. You just need majority of people. You don't need other factors about them

Sort:  

Thank you for that critique. You know, an art teacher failed me once, in the 8th grade. I was so distressed my mother asked her why, because I loved art class. The teacher told her that it wasn't possible I was trying (!). So it's pretty clear I lack talent :) However, the points you offer may be helpful in the future as I try to create a visually pleasing effect.
Thank you for taking the time to offer suggestions. I have fun, and bring to the challenge the few talents I do have: a fondness for research, an interest in history, and almost unbridled enthusiasm.
It's obvious you have training, and talent. I wish you success commensurate with your skills.

For your information. I am not an authority in anywhere. Still can't earn money regularly. =) Just a few people call me in a year.

:(
I see work that you display in some of your posts--especially your sculptures. I have not got a trained eye...just a gut response. Amazing to me that anyone can creates such things.

I think you just want to do this job by this way.
I am impressed with your knowledge on art history.
Thanks for your support on election.

I hope you don't mind...I tried to learn from your critique this week as I made my collage. Nice to have some objective pointers to guide my unskilled hand and eye. Not sure it helped, but I think so.