Let’s Make a Collage #82 - Shipwrecked!

img_0123.jpg

Here is my entry this week for the LMAC #82! I call it “Shipwrecked!”

I know it’s a little bare this week, but I ran out of time to create and put more items in. The boat also took a lot longer to make than I thought it would.

Every week I feel like I learn a new skill in Blender from these LMAC challenges, and this week was no different. I learned how to create fire! 🔥 I had never really had a reason to set anything on virtual fire before, but it was pretty fun 😂

Here is what my rendered image looked like before I imported it into Photoshop. Again, to save on render times, I cut the reference picture in half so it would render black instead of the reference image for places I didn’t need to mess with.

img_0126.jpg

Here is a close up of the busted boat. I created the boat fully intact first, and then went back and started ripping it up. I thought about using the rocks from my previous entry but decided it was easy enough to just make them again from scratch.

img_0127.jpg

This is what the boat looks like flipped right-side-up. I reused a wood texture from a previous entry. I can’t remember which one, but the texture is from textures.com

As a side note, I’ve really liked creating water the last two weeks haha.

img_0124.jpg

So when I had the idea to make a campfire, I thought it would be really cool (and quite clever) to take actual pieces of broken “wood” from the boat. I planned on ripping up the boat, and setting aside the pieces of wood to use as the wood for the campfire.

When I started to rip the boat apart, I completely forgot about this idea and just started deleting pieces haha. Oh well. I ended up having to model new pieces of wood for the fire 😂 But the thought was that the wood came from the broken boat.

img_0125.jpg

Another side note: I really enjoyed the colors of this challenge! All the browns and oranges paired with the dark teals were a lot of fun to look at and work with this week.

And of course, here is the reference picture from @shaka

img_0128.jpeg

I really enjoyed this week! Hopefully I’ll have a bit more time next week! Thanks for following along!

Sort:  

Congratulations @donroberts! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

The boat is wonderful. You and @quantumg are making me eager to learn this program. It seems to offer the ability to make what I see, and not what I can find on a public domain picture site. I like the fire, too. Really impressed with your freedom (artistic freedom, that is).

Thanks! Blender is a great program and I love using it! It does have a pretty steep learning curve, though. But like most things in life, it just takes some practice and patience!

Oh my, the steep learning curve I've been on in the last ten years. You can't imagine what I didn't know ten years ago. Helps to keep the brain cells alive :))

I hope I can learn it. You two do such great things with it.

Nice minimalistic collage. Wish you luck in the contest. 😎

Thank you!

You're welcome! 😎

Too bad you ran out of time.
But you did a great job with the boat and the bonfire.
And from a specific point of view, that might be exactly what was missing in this photo. :-)