You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Zoos: Are They Ethical? My Collage for LMAC 135

can cry that zoos are important to save animals? How about we save them in our own fields? And plains, and oceans, and savannah, and tundra

This is my exact argument. Why not use some of the lands we essentially "stole" from these animals so that they can rewild it? It is a shame that we can just take land and not think about the loss of life. For example, here where I live we have vast amounts of fields that are used for canola, corn, and wheat. But people cry about the rainforests that are being cut down. Meanwhile, our rainforests were cut down about 50 years ago without a tear.

My two cents about zoos, especially seeing all the African animals, they are used to vast grassy planes. I cannot even begin to think how they feel in smallish enclosures. I remember a story about apes in an enclosure. They put too many inside for in the wild their numbers per square meter would have been much less. Some of the apes, if I remember correctly, died and got sick as a kind of response to the unnatural number of them so close together.

We think we know so much, but in our attempts to be smart we are actually very stupid.

Sorry for the unasked for two cents opinion. 😅😅

Sort:  

No need to apologise - I think we all agree!