You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LMAC #58: Babies and Wolves

in Let's Make a Collage3 years ago (edited)

Thanks for the very interesting lesson. I really didn't know the Hindus would have a similar myth about an abandoned baby, although I'm a big fan of history.

As always, you've made a beautiful edu-collage. And I'm excitedly looking forward to your next contribution, like I had subscribed to a good science magazine with nice pictures inside.

It's pretty curious that there are so many myths of different kind that are similar in different cultures. Who knows what these myths are trying to tell us in reality, in their strange dialectics of the old days.
Especially when you consider that our historical knowledge of many epochs is only conjecture based on conjecture.
The world remains exciting. I'm still waiting for the announcement of a 5000 year old cell phone that would be found in some dark hole. On which they would find a video of the owner not looking at the street when crossing the zebra crossing but having his eyes clued to the display. :-D

Good luck! :-)

Sort:  

(Tip instead of a vote because I'm not sure the vote will count and I know the tip will :) Don't understand vote calculations.)

On which they would find a video of the owner not looking at the street when crossing the zebra crossing but having his eyes clued to the display.

HaHa :)

Your reaction to my blog explains why I love this platform. I get to be my nerdiest self, and actually find a few people who share my interest. Usually when I write one of these I know little to start and then it all opens up for me. I actually discovered other babies abandoned in baskets...one of them a Mesopotamian king, Sargon of Akkad. This I think is more than coincidence. What primordial need do these myths satisfy? Is there a common experience well beyond history that escapes us?

BTW: your English language skills are outstanding. Wish I could duplicate them in German. So many years I studied that language on and off. Today I have basic reading competency, but no courage to embarrass myself by writing in the language.