The Magical Fountain Square

It was a hot summer's day, and I was strolling through the city. Along a road I have taken many times, I came upon a fountain that I know was not there before.

It wasn't a traditional type fountain, with sides to keep the water in like a pool. Instead, there was water shooting straight up from the pavement, inviting visitors to stop for a refreshing shower.

I approached it curiously. My fellow pedestrians never even glanced at it, which I found odd. Shouldn't at least a few people want to stop for a second, and feel the cooling mist?

As I got closer, I gasped. I could see that the occupants of the square were not the average citizens I had been expecting.

A fairy as large as an average sized woman sat upon the cool, wet pavement. She smiled at me, then went back to gazing at the glistening plume of water. Her iridescent wings flapped slowly and rhythmically, much like a butterfly's.

An exotic looking lady danced happily, her red and black outfit contrasting beautifully with the scene. I wondered how I hadn't noticed her from the street. Her swaying relaxed me, and I knew if I watched for very long, I would soon stretch out for a long nap.

Not wanting to close my eyes, (I was afraid if I did, I would awaken to find out that this was only a dream) I looked up into the sky. What I saw was a bald eagle the size of a small plane!

That huge eagle was flying over the city, low enough to cause a panic. But nobody seemed to notice. Even when it swooped down and made the leaves on the trees rustle, nobody batted an eye.

As my eyes scanned the sky for more giant birds, I saw something even bigger - and more strange! A huge creature was looking towards the fountain square, from atop the new Charlesburg Center.

It was sitting calmly, wings relaxed but ready. Those sharp horns looked dangerous, but for some reason I felt perfectly safe.

I shook my head in disbelief. Surrounded by magical creatures, people were going about their day as if nothing unusual was happening. I asked myself, are people really so tired of living that all of the curiosity has been drained out of them? Or do they genuinely not see the same scene?

As if to reassure me that I was indeed still in the same familiar world, a dove took a quick shower. At least the birds could still see!

Once I had cooled off, I decided to run back home for my camera. Upon returning, the whole thing had disappeared.

In its place was a green space, with two large trees and a picnic table. There was no sign of the square, or any of its inhabitants.

I sat at the picnic table, and looked around. Even the strange creature on the Charlesburg Center building was gone. Had I dreamt it all? Impossible! I knew what I had seen...

And then I saw it! The very same dove was looking at me from a branch of the largest tree. His feathers were still wet.



Images by @redheadpei and @eve66

https://www.lmac.gallery/lmac_gallery-image/6855
https://www.lmac.gallery/lmac_gallery-image/9002
https://www.lmac.gallery/lmac_gallery-image/6785
https://www.lmac.gallery/lmac_gallery-image/7760
https://www.lmac.gallery/lmac_gallery-image/7750



To enter, click here

🆕Prizes*
🥇 First Place: 24.45 HIVE
🥈 Second Place: 21.19 HIVE
🥉 Third Place: 17.93 HIVE
4️⃣ Fourth Place: 14.67 HIVE
5️⃣ Fifth Place: 11.41 HIVE
Top 6-10: 9.78 HIVE
Top 11-15: 4.89 HIVE

Eligible to receive from the LMAC's community prize pool are only those winners who have set the @lmac community account as 20% beneficiary in their respective entry posts.

➡️ Entry deadline is November 21, end of day (midnight UTC)!

Entry created using Canva Pro

Sort:  

I enjoyed your story and fantasy collage. Thanks for including my images from the lil gallery. 😊

The pleasure was mine, thanks so much for allowing their use :)

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@redheadpei! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (9/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Why did Stalin only write in lowercase?
Because he hated capitalism.

Credit: reddit
@redheadpei, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wrestlingdesires

Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP
(2/6)

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@wrestlingdesires(5/15) tipped @iskawrites (x1)
wrestlingdesires tipped grindan (x1)
wrestlingdesires tipped redheadpei (x1)
grindan tipped wrestlingdesires (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

The story got me hooked, you write so well. Best of luck 👍

Thanks so much for your kind words 🙌

Wow that was a TRIP! I'd very much like to visit this fountain. I enjoyed the way you tied the ending up, I love a story that makes you say "that wasn't real... or was it?" Thank you for sharing! !PIZZA !LUV !LOLZ

What did the tie say to the hat?
I'll hang around here while you go on ahead.

Credit: reddit
@wrestlingdesires, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @grindan

Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(2/4)

I'm glad you enjoyed it, thanks so much for the tips 🙌

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

What’s the difference between ignorance and apathy?
I don’t know and I don’t care.

Credit: reddit
@grindan, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wrestlingdesires

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(1/6)

@grindan! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Wow. This is a beautiful story.

I hope the bird made you realize it wasn't a dream but a magical experience

Thanks so much, that was my intention in the story :)

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@iskawrites! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Why does a Moon rock taste better than an Earth rock?
It's a little meteor

Credit: reddit
@iskawrites, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wrestlingdesires

Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(2/6)