What i think you should know about HIVE and the HF 23

in SteemPeak4 years ago (edited)

9000_85J9773.jpg

Enjoy a picture from earlier this month in the Caribbean.

Now I'll try to give some facts and info about HIVE in as un-opinionated way as possible

WHAT'S GOING ON TODAY

So... here's the low down

  1. CODE: Code was created that would create a new token and new chain called HIVE
  2. FORK: At 8AM MST that chain began... seems like it took about an hour to get fully running
  3. DEPARTURE: A majority of apps and services operating on Steem have switched to HIVE or are in the process of switching.
  4. STEEMPEAK: SteemPeak.com still works and continues runs on the STEEM blockchain
    We will monitor how much users and how much infrastructure there is on Steem blockchain.
  5. PEAKD: The team at @steempeak created a site called https://peakd.com/ it operates on the HIVE blockchain
  6. WORK IN PROGRESS: There is lots of work to be done to PeakD.com still... look for posts over at @peakd later today.
  7. AIRDROP: Some accounts didn't get a free aidrop of HIVE tokens. It is now up to the community as a whole to determine if they should get them. That will be done by community vote on what is now called the HIVE FUND (formerly SPS). They'll probably want to explain why they voted for the sockpuppet witnesses or if they think there is an error. I'll be voting to support most accounts that request HIVE in this method. I'll even perhaps help them do an proposal. #olivebranch

WHAT ELSE TO KNOW

  • PeakD.com is still a work in progress and some functions are still being worked on.
  • You now have two sets of tokens... they are completely separate.
  • Your keys are the same on both chains... for now... until you change one/both if you desire.
  • STEEM Keychain is different than HIVE keychain.
  • I don't personally know how to install Hive Keychain extension, maybe there'll be a post about it eventually.
  • I'm personally using PEAKLOCK for the time being even though I also love keychain.
  • This post I'm writing will not show up on STEEM... because i have not posted it there. They are two separate repositories of information. (two sepaparete chains now)
  • I'll go to SteemPeak.com next and post a similar post with a different picture.

ASK ME MORE... I'll keep adding.
Questions should help all users.

Sort:  

PeakD is working fine for me ! Nice to be on the other side; hopefully now we can focus on bringing features to the blockchain and interfaces rather than politics .

PeakD & PeakLock are working smoothly for me. Thanks a lot for your hardwork.

Kudos!

Yeeha, Hive and PeakD are alive 😁
For me, peaklock and peakd working fine for now...
I'm happy about the journey 👍
Hive On 😉

logged in via peaklock

  • Delegation doesn't work
  • Claim account token doesn't work

"Missing active key" but I got both my keys in peaklock :)

Yep seeing the same things. We'll work on those
cc @asgarth

  • image.png

sry for spam :)

Nope that's fine... we like these we'll keep changing the wording

I was unable to post with 100% "SP". so there is probably more bugs to it

ok thanks for the heads up

cc @asgarth

Should be fixed now ;)

Peakd is working flawlessly :D Welcome to Hive!

On hive.blog im getting errors when trying to open wallet or upload images.

Great work! Happy to start my journey in the Hive. :)

I noticed pictures I uploaded using Steempeak would not show up on Peakd when copied over. Is that by design or will it change later? Thanks.

good work. we all know how HF's go, this one for now looks good 😁 bugs in the software will be fixed, not like we are in a hurry or something

Yeah i'm actually decently shocked... but let's knock on some wood and keep fingers crossed.

Will there be an option in peakd to cross post to Steem?

haven't considered it yet. We'll keep working on getting the site fully functional before we consider our next features.

If other people want it please comment below i guess.

Cross post like communities would be cool

I was quite pleased to find my favorite UI was ready when I came to Hive! Now if I can find an exchange the unload some sh*t coin for the best Web 3.0 coin.