USE OUR BETA | beta.steempeak.com

in SteemPeak4 years ago (edited)

STEEMPEAK POST 50.png

https://beta.steempeak.com/

WHAT TO KNOW

  • UPGRADING DAILY Every day there are new features and changes and for those who love new bells and whistles this is the place to be. We post updates pretty often here https://beta.steempeak.com/c/hive-175001

  • COMMUNITIES ARE LIVE Communities are rolling and looking great.

  • FEEDBACK REQUESTED We love giving access to a raw live beta site because SteemPeak users know how we operate and that we thrive off of your requests and suggestions.

  • IT IS NOT FINISHED We would hope you know this by the very nature of the name BETA. But to make it clear you know and we know that Beta still needs lots more polish and lots more features. Several new features still have lots more to go.
    Then again will SteemPeak ever be "finished"? ... nope because we'll always be improving.

WHAT TO LOOK FOR

There's a ton that's new on beta so get ready for some cool changes

COMMUNITIES

  • First check out communities - https://beta.steempeak.com/communities
  • SEARCH: It can be a bit overwhelming searching through the 600+ communities. We've given some suggestions but also they're organized with an algorithm from Steemit INC showing actively followed. Once you follow them
  • SUBSCRIBE: Find a good community you can subscribe and then you'll have among many things a cool short cut on the top menu.
  • CREATE: If you're the type that loves building groups of people online go try it out. Also go tell your friends that they should be building communities on steem.

EXPLORE

  • The explore page https://beta.steempeak.com/explore got a huge facelift YESTERDAY!
  • This is a great place for a user (new users) to understand what all they can do to find users and to find content.
  • We suggest using explore to subscribe or favorite different topics, communities, badges, users...that way you can use navigation to go back to your favorites faster.

NAVIGATION

  • Check out the new top menu... the goal is to make it very fast and easy to get where you want to be.
  • Is it filling your needs?
  • Shortcut for your own profile is now top right menu.
    SteemPeak.com has lots and lots of features the goal is to help users get access to them all... and quickly... while not feeling overwhelming.

NOTIFICATIONS

  • We've switched to a much more complete system designed by @roadscape of steemit inc.
  • It will now show mentions, follows and community actions as well as a few other things.
  • It also shows votes above .02 which is interesting.
  • There are no customization tools for this notification system at the moment and not completely certain if there will be.
  • BONUS: If you have multiple accounts and use SWITCH ACCOUNT then the notifications system will make you really happy.
BADGES
  • An exciting new feature https://beta.steempeak.com/badges
  • This is a visual indicator of a group/list of users.
  • It's built on the back of a decentralized list of users... using an account system similar to community "hives"
  • However on SteemPeak qualified lists become badges and then you get some cool new graphical utility.
  • Presently you need to ask the @steempeak team if you want to create a badge right now. It will open up to the public later.

WHY BETA AND NOT ON MAIN SITE?

The main answer is that the 3rd party API that we use for communities and notifications is presently a BETA api and can change at any time. However we're still considering launching it on the main site knowing that our users will likely be understanding at sudden changes. We'll also consult with Steemit INC as to what they're planning on doing.

What would you like to see us do?


A WORD ABOUT STEEMPEAK COMMUNITY

https://beta.steempeak.com/c/hive-175001

This is where we're posting very frequently about BETA UPDATES
We also have pinned posts where you can easily give feedback and a member of the team will see.
Anything that you think someone else will benefit from hearing or seeing the response from put it in the community.


A WORD ABOUT MOBILE

The beta site works on mobile and we have a list of things to improve still... however we want to do an app and re-design this year... so we're not focusing as heavily on mobile in this particular release.
With that said if there's anything particularly annoying please let us know it's gonna take some time for an APP so we need to make sure Mobile is still a very pleasant experience for you right this moment.


A WORD ABOUT OUR WITNESS

Running strong in the top 20 for many weeks now.
We've long since added a backup block producer server and tested it and our monitoring software which includes an administrative interface to give SteemPeak admins access to witness things.

We've noticed it's a matter of one whale sized voter separating witnesses 9-19
So we'd like to invite everyone to throw a vote our way. We'd really appreciate it.

@SteemPeak -> https://steempeak.com/@steempeak/
image.png
This works for all witnesses btw

https://beta.steempeak.com/

Sort:  

Feedback so far I love it! I would love to see payouts of tribe tokens in earning calculations 😉 big ask?

Only bug I have found is trying to switch accounts on mobile I constantly have to sign in with steemconnect.

Great job guys 👌

Thanks for the feedback. Can you explain exactly where do you want to see the tribes payouts?

Under tools I think it would be cool to see it as a trackable metric... what tokens do I earn most & what weekly earnings can be expected just like the STEEM metrics maybe tribe specific engagements also. Plus inclusion on rewards tab to go with that 👌 might be a big ask but I think tribes wouldn’t mind the details available to users as well.

Funny thing, I just went on the beta on Steemit but in the back of my mind knowing I won't use it as much because I enjoy SteemPeak more. I was like, 'When are SteemPeak launching communities?' 1 hour later I spot this post....😂 😂

Thank you steempeak.

Yup yup! Gotta grab updates by the tail if you don't wanna be left behind! :D

Gotta stay up to date. But as expected, they are never far behind.

Interesting

Thanks so much for the update on SteemPeak @steempeak. I love it, and utilitze it every day for my templates. It makes my life easy in terms of posting.

We're very happy to hear that. Templates do make life a lot easier.

Quick question. I asked in SteemPeak Discord channel support about my drafts, scheduled posts, and templates not showing up in the community. It was explained the two are on different servers.

So I'll have to continue using steempeak.com where my drafts and templates are.

Can I just use the hive-175-001 as the 1st one so my posts can show in the beta also? or if this not necessary because it's all show up when integrated at the end?

I think it's probably easier to copy/paste some of your drafts in the beta website ;)

This way you can use communities as they are supposed to work.

perfect. thanks.

Yes so that people know BETA.steempeak.com is a different website that steempeak.com ... their saved options on steempeak.com will not be on beta.steempeak.com

YES! I've been waiting for this!

Same x) I use chiefly Steempeak and having cool features only on Steemit was bothering me :P

excellent update! from now on i will use it, i have a question do you need help to translate your page to spanish? because i would love to be part of the team and translate it so you can reach a wider range of users @steempeak

A translation project is on the to do list for later this year ... just needing to finish a few other things

Nice idea! I only browse the Internet in English, but being a native Spanish speaker, I would love to help translate it!

I have been using this as my primary interface for about a weekk now and love it. As always some small things need work, but none I have not seen already mentioned elsewhere.

Don't be afraid to make a list/post/comment with a bunch of those small things. We'd love to see it. There's a bunch of them we have listed but helps to know which things are impacting others.

I don't know if it was solved but I made a small report on Twitter about a little problem I encountered.

(edit: tested, it hasn't been solved yet)

image.png

Contrast this with the normal behaviour where a link should become embedded as a media card on Twitter for the best sharing experience.

image.png

Thanks, should be working now. But please don't share links to the beta website. I'm not sure it will be available forever also after the final release.

Hahaha, alright. But if you move beta to production, and it's not working, it won't work in production either! :D

using it now, I love you :)

Great and thanks!
Next step: "There's an app for that"?

Lol, that'd be cool! I did look for Steempeak on Google Play. It seems the only Android apps are quite mediocre in comparison to the browser experience.

Giving beta a test now and checking out communities, looks really slick and enjoying it. Regarding the APP will you be going PWA like splinterlands did or native app?

I'm almost sure it will be an hybrid app (or a PWA) ...but not taken a final decision yet.

Wow. That's a good news @steempeak. I will give it a go soon. I promise. Well-done #steempeak team. Bravo

Posted using Partiko Android

Got to say I use steempeak daily and I am excited to see these new updates in the non beta. Communities is going to be a great addition to steempeak.

yes we'd like to move everything over to the main site as soon as possible. I think our users will be ok with a few unpolished edges... they'll let us know so we can polish them up right?

I am just checking it out now; thanks for all the effort you guys are putting into it.

I took a look and it's quite impressive! Keep up the great work!

Steempeak is my favorite whenever I use laptop or desktop computer. I was missing it on mobile. As your post informed that beta will also work on mobile, I am certainly go for it.

What's up with removing the vote percentage on posts and comments? I'd like to see the percentage I voted or was voted on.

This really is a buzzkill, it's literally the one thing that keeps me using Steempeak, being able to see people's vote % on posts and comments. (at least make it optional on the settings, I depend on this for all my posts)

screenshot.jpg

There's also a problem in the settings page where you press save and nothing happens (there should at least be an alert saying "Saved successfully!" or something like that).

Right now, it does apply the changes but doesn't alert you.

image.png

Steempeak community title is currently unreadable (same white as the snowy mountain)

image.png

What's up with removing the vote percentage on posts and comments? I'd like to see the percentage I voted or was voted on.

This is change in the API. Nothing we can do about it (BTW I've asked the same as soon as I noticed the percentage was dropped).

There's also a problem in the settings page where you press save and nothing happens

Another user already asked about this and will be in the next release

Steempeak community title is currently unreadable

Yep, will be updated soon :D

Thank you :) Let's hope that Steemit reverts it? I don't know. Sad!

Having problems with my feeds on beta.steempeak.com tonight last couple of hours getting error...
Looks like something went wrong, please try again in a few moments
Do you have a discord channel I can report this stuff to?

Why discord... we see it here.
@asgarth will be around in a bit... but my guess is it's likely just API issues ... it's on a different API that may not be as stable. But we'll keep track how much we're seeing or getting reported what you're talking about.

But yes we have a discord. But communities is where the action is going.

p.s. you don't get comment votes on discord do you?

Thanks, for the quick reply. I have no problem using this interface and prefer it to discord.

Still experiencing the issue? Feeds are loading fine for me...

They are fine now, they did not work for about 2-3 hours last night my time. It was just the Feeds - following feed....

Having a similar problem tonight, trying to scroll down and get the following after a popup message says something about a timeout...
Screenshot from 20200212 222648.png

Still having problems using Brave last couple of nights.
Screenshot 1.png

Is it always when browsing your feed?

Yes, just feeds - following feed, all other tabs seem to work fine.

It just worked sort of, then as I was paging down this happened...
Screenshot 2.png

Great job @steempeak, but why don't you have a simple option to log in with a posting password?

Posted using Partiko Android

Already used lovely

Well, I am not sure but I think I just entered your and it is grrrrrrreat!!! So, I guess you don't need any requirements for this so skip the rest. Hahaha App requirements please! What are the app requirements? As a software developer, I always create a block of the system requirements for an app an you should too! It is great practice

We don't have an app... we're a website page.

Aaaand, someday, can we dream of an app coming? I know there's Vue Native somewhere that would make it easier to import it into an app.

@asgarth does have plans to make an app not sure if he knows of Vue Native or which he's thinking about using.

However my question for you is... what would an app do that more time working on the mobile website couldn't do?

The general user has a small attention span and a big fear of effort and time spent. That's why many major web apps and stores have created mobile apps, which give much more freedom when providing features for their users. Among these features are notifications, local storage of credentials, home screen shortcuts and widgets, navigation gestures, etc.

Although Steempeak is doubtlessly the best web app at the moment, be it on mobile or desktop, especially talking about functionality, it has many issues that prevent it from becoming the users' choice as the main Steem mobile app. The main problem is that there's no Keychain, which makes it so that an experienced user has to take 1 to 2 minutes to log in, and a new user won't find their way for at least 5 minutes if they have to e-mail themselves their password each time Steempeak logs them out.

We're not talking about programmers here but average users. This means that adding accessible and familiar features is key to more than doubling the retention rate, especially given Steempeak's obvious superiority to other apps that are currently standing at death's door due to their slowness to adapt to user demand.

If Steempeak wants to retain newbies and compete before a new app takes the initiative, this is the moment to strike, when it's months away from the first mobile app that will probably even adopt communities and other curation features.

First person to ever answer my question with some actual features. hahaha
OK let's go over them.

  • Notifications ... I assume you mean Push notifications. Yep that's a benefit of mobile. (Or drawback if you're like some people who hate what push notifications have done to their life)
    As for non push notifications... we already have that.
  • Local storage of credentials - I mean it's a different ballgame with blockchain and crypto. Credentials is complicated. Basically i think you can probably expect this solution is an additional thing to do... not something the mobile itself will solve. But yes a problem we'd like to solve regardless if it's in app form or mobile form alone.
  • Home screen shortcut.... nope this isn't really an app thing. You can do this with mobile right now in litterally 2 seconds. Actually you can do it faster than using the app store perhaps... or equivelent. Just not as many people are as used to how to do it... so app store makes it more in line with what people know.
  • What kind of widget is the question? That's not implied with mobile that's a whole other development process from what I know. That's an addition.
  • Navigation gestures... not sure what you mean by that and what ones are available on app that can't be available on mobile?

NO KEYCHAIN... this is for sure one of the top two problems with the mobile experience. Steemconnect is not user friendly either.
The other main issue is that the editor and mobile keyboard don't play together well.

  • About the push notifications, you could always add an option to disable them selectively, I suppose.
  • For local storage, I mean like a local keychain. It would obviously have to be encrypted, but I don't see it as something so hard to do? I have an AES-encrypted JSON that stores some stuff in a server, though I'm not sure if that's the standard for security. I think it's easier to do on mobile, too, where things are more contained and not risked by addons.
  • Exactly, shortcuts can be easily set up to open the website quickly. However, you could have a small popup that recommends adding to desktop, for example. It would way more comfy to just have that done automatically by the playstore, especially for the newbies.
  • Yeah, widgets are an addition. I was thinking of curation feeds, notification feeds, and optionally wallet monitor (SP Steem SBD etc.)
  • Navigation gestures are like, pulling to the right to get a menu, or to go to home screen, to go to the next post, etc., basically navigating the app with gestures instead of pressing buttons. Many apps do this wonderfully and a lot of the competition lies on this point alone.
  • Keychain can be temporarily solved by making an encrypted posting key container in client-side storage, possibly unlocked as a WIF with a cookie?
  • The editor could be solved more easily on an app with a custom text box. You press it and a plain text box appears in focus where you can write, and once you close the keyboard, it switches back to web-version text box.

@themarkymark see what I'm getting just half and hour ago

It's baffling how scum and dirt of the web dare to bully and give me ultimatums because of my voting preferences and choices. Simply unbelievable!!!

A few people got the same. His vote is worth 0.8 with 100k SP. It's probably not going cause much damage except to a few people he chooses to target later on. As was said in this comments section, his SP is leased and will be over in 4 weeks. Unless he keeps paying or pays more, his threat is not very solid.

Thank you @cryptosharon I was a little bit concerned but now you brought me some peace of mind. I was furious when I saw that! Thanks!

No problem, @cpol! Let's keep working in harmony to make Steem a better place where we can freely share our thoughts :) Steem on!

I have just started to use this

Just came at the right time. Its good to know this. Thank youuuu.

Sorry , I only associate with alphas

JK

omg there's no alpha.steempeak.com

we're doing something wrong

Gonna test it out now.. well done!

This post has been very nice, my dear steemian friend

Nice to see, I'll try and not to forget using it the next time. I like it more Steemit's from what I've seen.

With that said if there's anything particularly annoying please let us know

Re mobile, I don't know if its just my handset, but when I type , half of my screen is taken up by the keyboard , and the other half by the interface. The editing area only has one line as the bulk of the top section is taken up by the editing icons. This makes writing quite difficult. If you can widen up the writing area like Steemit that would be great. Thanks.

Screenshot_20200211-112206.png

Screenshot_20200211-113322.png

Yes that's a ticket and an issue we want to work on.

Something extra is that you can't widen comment areas on browser either :( I like writing super long comments and being able to see only 5 lines at a time is sooo frustrating! There should be a little "pull-me" button to make the comment-section essay long!

Added, should be available in the next update.

Thaaanks! :DDD

Is there some way to make it easy for us to go back and find post we made on other communities so that we can resteem them to our blog page? I noticed that a few of the post I made using the create post function direct to the community page do not show on my steempeak blog page. I really did not think about the resteem need when making them because I still primarily use steemit and they always showed up on my blog page there.

I just resteemed my Fiery Sunset post from the Photography Lovers community. I have a few more community made post that I would like to have show on my blog page for people to see when they visit it.

OMG THAT IS TRUEEE

I hadn't noticed that. My Beta profile looks so inactive because I've been using OCD's community tag. :(

Never mind, I found the easy way. I did not see under discussions the option for all post, so now I can easily go and resteem them to show on my front blog page.

Congratulations @steempeak!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade in the following categories:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 10 with 768 upvotes
  • Pending payout - Ranked 1 with $ 96,78

Feedback time, I liked the old explore more. You could see at one glance what's top and hot. Maybe merge the old view with the new focused one?

We still have a small change to do. Basically we would like to add more options in the top navbar for the Explore menu. Just we have not found the time to work on it yet ;)

I love the new explore page but it's true i want a faster method to get to a particular topic or the all topics... which i assume is what you call "what's top and hot"

Nice! Also, notifications do not show replies on mobile at least. Had to scroll through and chech replies by hand

Nice! Also, notifications do not show replies on mobile at least. Had to scroll through and chech replies by hand

As always great work @steempeak. Keep going.

$trdo
!BEER

Congratulations @eii, you successfuly trended the post shared by @steempeak!
@steempeak will receive 0.04911638 TRDO & @eii will get 0.03274425 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Congratulations @steempeak, your post successfully recieved 0.11086876 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@cryptoyzzy earned : 0.04116825 TRDO curation
@eii earned : 0.03274425 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

This looks awesome.

I'll check it out!

tnx the post steempeak (70)

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment