You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Aspiring Social Media Influencers Should Start with Hive

in Project HOPE4 years ago

Dear @culgin

Interesting choice of topic. One of those posts, which surely are worth checking out and reading through.

popular the term "social media" did not exist

I wonder if term 'influencer' existed already in the past? I hardly doubts so. Right?

How successful they are can be easily measured by the number of followers/subscribers that they have.

I'm afraid you're very much wrong. That may be true 3-4 years ago, but not any more. I've been in social media industry (managing in the past several instagram and FB accounts of my clients) and my impression is that hardly anyone cares about amount of followers. Majority of users/clients are aware that real engagement only matters, since 90% of followers can be easily ... nothing but bots.

This also leads me to why I think aspiring social media influencers should start with Hive.

Here I also need to disagree. Not that I have anything against hive. However there are 3 main reasons why STEEM and HIVE are not good for new social media influencers:

  • difficult learning curve (making it easier to start with other social media)
  • lack of ads and anti-ads policy on both chains
  • terrible content discovery, which for most new users mean lack of rewards, views and engagement.

Of course it's just my own opinion. However I see that even other community leaders are stuggling with monetizing their work.

Again, solid read. Upvote on the way :)
Yours, Piotr

Sort:  

I wonder if term 'influencer' existed already in the past? I hardly doubts so. Right?

Well, the term is certainly new, but the concept exists since humans started to live as a community I supposed? People have to influence each other to get things done. Be it through tangible or non-tangible means 😉

I'm afraid you're very much wrong. That may be true 3-4 years ago, but not any more. I've been in social media industry (managing in the past several instagram and FB accounts of my clients) and my impression is that hardly anyone cares about amount of followers. Majority of users/clients are aware that real engagement only matters, since 90% of followers can be easily ... nothing but bots.

I agree to this. I am not into this space myself so I rely on your professional opinion 🙂

difficult learning curve (making it easier to start with other social media)

Agree that there is a learning curve but I see as a good and bad thing. Those who overcame the curve become more loyal to the platform. There is a saying, "The harder you work for something, the greater you'll feel when you achieve it". So with a steeper learning curve, you will feel emotional attachment once you master it. That is probably why you and I are still here.

lack of ads and anti-ads policy on both chains

I actually like the fact that there are no Ads and yet you have a chance to earn something. It is tough to compete with so many other social media platforms and the "Marketing 101" module I took in college taught me that you need to find niche in order to survive. So I thought a platform without Ads, is quite a good niche considering the other platforms are all with Ads. Again I am not a marketing professional and perhaps you are right about this as well.

terrible content discovery, which for most new users mean lack of rewards, views and engagement.

Fully agree to this. That is why Project HOPE is so important. You have the power (Hive Power literally) to influence which post get more rewards. If there are more big accounts doing better curation, content discovery may become a bit better.

 4 years ago  

The harder you work for something, the greater you'll feel when you achieve it

:)

Is there a saying "the harder you have to work, more likely you will give up"? :P

Is there a saying "the harder you have to work, more likely you will give up"? :P

Let me google that for you 😛

https://lmgtfy.com/?q=the+harder+you+have+to+work%2C+more+likely+you+will+give+up