Why Pay $60 for A Book of Random Numbers

in Project HOPE3 years ago

image.png
screenshot from rand.org
Today, I was surfing through the net looking for new things and just trying to learn more, then I came across this book "A million random digit" and I felt, anyone can write anything and publish it at will but I got confused when I saw it was sold for $68.00 okay web discount of $54.40. Why will anyone sell a book that is filled with random numbers for that exuberant amount?

image.png
screenshot from amazon.com
So I decided to check a few motivational books and I saw that they were sold for less than $10, so I asked myself, why will someone pay $60 for a book of random numbers?

Screenshot (2).png

Why do humans not just pick up their pen when they have a need to use a random number? I guess this is because we are a biased set of creatures. We are likely to pick the number from our telephone line number, house number or any other number you are familiar with. You are likely to forget the middle odds like 5 and remember the evens more faster, so humans are not the best options for picking random numbers. Computers are not as well as they work with programming and algorithm and when people can access that algorithm, the numbers can be predicted.

Now, this goes back to my very few questions;

Why will someone pay an average of $60 for a book of random numbers?
What is the use of this book?
Is it truly random because Gary Briggs a Rand Engineer just said that there were a few random numbers misplaced?
Sort:  

Markdown Guide
Good article, that's a good question I think people want to do things that save them time and then lose it on other things like social networks.

 3 years ago  

@tipu curate

This post has been manually curated by @bala41288 from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.