The Long- Lasting Effect of Covid-19 in my Dear Country.

in Project HOPE4 years ago

Covid-19 pandemic seem to have gradually started parking it’s bag as the number of infected cases continue to gradually decline in different parts of the world, Nigeria (My dear country) was not exempted in the rising case of the virus and the after effect. I will like to bring you update about the things that has been caused by the virus in my dear country.

images.jpeg

Credit

A Quick Stroll to the Beginning.

When the number of infected cases in the country started increasing, the Nigeria government just like other countries also put up safety measures to ensure that its citizens do not all die as a result of the virus and one of those compulsory measures was the period of lock down when everyone was asked to stay at home.

images (1).jpeg

Credit

Nigeria is a blessed nation but sadly the wealth of the Nation seem to go the pocket of some individuals who continually make it a source of family wealth and are untouchable by the security agencies. Majority of the citizens depend highly on salaries or daily wages for survival and the lockdown meant that a lot of families were going to have to stay hungry. But in order to avoid that, some good hearted wealthy men in the country stepped out to give out free food and money in order to ease the burden of those who may not have anything to eat but unfortunately those who were supposed to be given the money got nothing as some greedy men in power still took over the money meant for the poor.

images (2).jpeg

Credit

I consider it a high level of wickedness to have enough for yourself and even unborn generations, yet you find pleasure in stealing from the crumbs that the masses should benefit from. During the lockdown period, parents who depended on daily wages had to stare at their kids go hungry without having any food to give to them and even those who depended on salaries were not paid and that means there was nothing to take home to their families.

The Condition of the Pandemic to Business Owners.

Those who depended on salaries were affected by the pandemic but in my opinion I guess the blow was more on business owners, I am going to have to use myself as an example in this scenario. Imagine someone like me who is into retailing and I had just stocked up before the strike of the pandemic and of course we had to obey government orders and close business and to make matters worse in my case, I sell in a student region where sales is usually not encouraging whenever students are not around, so we all had to close down and you know the value of some goods only lasts for some months this could only mean one thing that upon resumption we may have to discard so many expired products.

The case of lots of start-ups like mine is one that usually has to seek loans in order to get their business standing, so the period of lock down was a tough one that had business owners in pains, I feel pity for those with even kids to take care of.

The lockdown has been eased so what next?

Now that the lockdown has been eased and some people can get back to work, I think we should be excited but hey maybe not everyone can get too excited because some people have no jobs to return too so it has to be the beginning of a new job hunt and for some business owners that have their businesses ruined as a result of the virus (it is a sad situation), also for some other business owners like me, some of us still have to stay at home until the economy is back in full gear and students are asked to resume school.

I still have a lot of questions unanswered though:

What if school never resumes and everyone has to school online?

What happens to the goods that are almost expired in our stores?

How will those jobless people with kids cope? (I can’t even imagine)

I am really glad the number of infected cases is declining gradually but it looks as if the effect caused by the virus will last longer than we expect.

Sort:  

Nigeria is a blessed nation but sadly the wealth of the Nation seem to go the pocket of some individuals who continually make it a source of family wealth

So true

It's been a while though, how are you doing?

because some people have no jobs to return too
I haven't sat down to think of this.

Its so very sad.

I pray the filthy rich grow a heart anyway.

Amen, I pray so too

It is hard all what is happening, they are very different realities besides, as you say there are those who benefit from the situation without caring about the most vulnerable! I understand you perfectly.

Thanks for stopping by Sis.

 4 years ago  

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 21/28)

Online school with our horrible network? lol plus it isn't affordable. I spend like 5k per month on internet alone and it is not nearly enough.

I hope things will get better soon and we'll keep hoping for the best. Stay strong