You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: IS YOUR JOB THREATENED? Consequences of coronavirus in more way than you actually think. LET ME TELL YOU WHY ....

in Project HOPE4 years ago

Personally I have been trying very consciously not to buy Chinese made goods if I can help it. If there's no other comparable item then I am left with no choice, otherwise if a comparable items made elsewhere is available even for a few bucks more I bite the bullet and buy that item.

I made that decision about three years ago after reading an article about how many Chinese workers live on company property stacked fifteen high in bunk beds, they are made to work sixteen hour days, they charge them rent, utilities and for food if they provide a dining area.

I had gone to the store one day to buy my first ever air conditioner. I never really liked air conditioners because they make more noise than a fan. Usually if you run a fan during the night when it's cooler out and turn it off during the day your house doesn't really heat up that much till more towards evening when it starts to cool down and you can switch your fan back on. We had gone through about two weeks of straight high in the nineties without much of a night time breeze so tiring of it I thought I'd get an air conditioner and just use it in times like this. I come home with it and while opening it up I notice it said made in China. I sat there for a few minutes thinking about all those people crammed up living together forced to work sixteen hour days and I was about to relax in my cooled down room at their expense. It was a thought that I didn't want to find myself having to keep reflecting upon so I choose that moving forward I'd make a conscious effort not to buy goods from China. It's really hard at times to find goods that are not made there, one reason I gave up many, many years ago. Back when the US was losing jobs to China I fought until I spent more time in the stores looking for stuff not made in China than I really preferred to be spending as it was nearly impossible. Even back when I'd buy a car I'd tell the salesman I wanted an American made car, finally that response came back I can find you a car mostly made in America but not totally. That's what I'd have to settle for. Cars and clothes are nearly impossible to find being made here.

I am not going to say I feel bad for those who've chosen over the years to engage in slave labor if they lose business or revenue over this crisis, the saying often is what comes around goes around so those who will lose money over this will now feel what it was like when they jerked all those jobs out of the US and left people scrambling from the loss of their jobs and livelihoods.

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Wow. Thank you @sunlit7 for such a brilliant comment

ps. I've noticed that your latest post is over 1 month old. did you give up on steemit? :(

Difficult times ahead of all of us,
Yours, Piotr

No not completely.

 4 years ago  

Hi again @sunlit7

Can I ask you for little favour? I joined contest called "Community of the week" with project I manage and I would be grateful if you could RESTEEM it and help me get some exposure and drop some encouraging comment :)

Link to my post: on steemit or on steempeak

Thanks :)
Yours, Piotr

Sure though I don't think a lot of the people who follow me are much active anymore but I resteemed it for you.