One year ago and crypto prices today - what a difference!

One year ago, the price of 1 Ether was somewhere around 100 USD. The price of 1 Bitcoin was around 5000 USD, and the price of 1 VET was 0,0025 USD. Now, one year later, the price of 1 Bitcoin is close to $60,000, the price of 1 Ethereum is close to $1900, and the price of one VET is $0,08 USD. What a year for crypto? If you invested at the right time, you are for sure in a big plus now. In fact, if you have ever invested in crypto, you are most likely in a plus right now, because it is quite hard to be in a minus now.

Of course, if all you own is Steem and Hive, then you might actually be in a minus, because Hive had a major pump upon its release, and Steem has been at $8 at its highest level. But still, most people active in the crypto world are in plus right now (unless they have bought high and just sold and sold and sold in minus all the time).

ether long term.jpg
The arrow shows Ethereum one year ago

This is also a big reminder...

Things can happen so quickly in the crypto world. And let us not forget, that just like the price of Bitcoin and Ethereum have mooned in the last year, things might change and go the other direction as well. Still, I do believe that we have a bright future in the crypto world, but it is always nice to look at some charts and to get an overview showing how fast things might change.

But, I think my main goal with this article is to keep a good perspective when it comes to holding or selling. One year ago, I had a plan to keep on selling and so on. And yes, I am trying to stick to my plan. But, I can also see that people who had the same strategy with Bitcoin at $10 are probably quite sorry that they sold most of their belongings before it reached $100.

That is why I am turning more and more into a long-term holder, with some small trading happening here and there. How come? I am selling some now, just to make sure that I am in profit, but I am keeping most of my belongings because I believe in these projects long term. And I know that with staking and so, I will most likely be happy sometime in the future that I didn't sell, but kept on holding.

vet long term.jpg
Vechain has also mooned a lot in the last year, and it is still mooning...

Of course, this is going to hurt if I own something worth $1000 today, and then the value will fall to $100. But, in the long term, I believe it will rather move towards $5000 than to $50, and thus, I decide to hold with joy, on both good and bad days.

My plan has changed...

In other words, my plan has changed, but only in part. I am still selling crypto because I don't want to sit back in a bear market and regret not selling anything. But, I am not selling as much as I planned, because I am convinced that long-term, this is going to grow even more!

What's up with your plans? Are you selling as much as you planned? Are you keeping all your crypto long-term? I would love to hear about your strategies and thoughts!

Sort:  

Hi @unbiasedwriter
I am currently analyzing to decide.
Best regards.

This post has been manually curated by @bala41288 from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Hi @unbiasedwriter
Wow, looking at the chart like that it is something impressive really. Yes, I didn't buy BTC because I couldn't when it was at 3500, nor at 5000, but I did buy when it was at 12000, and wow, it's been multiplied now by 5, so it's been worth doing.
Good reminder, just as they can go up they can go down, but I also think long term it looks a lot better than we thought it would last year.

Good for you buying BTC at 12k... I just have very little that I have gotten here and there, but in general, I have only been selling BTC, using it as a temporary trading pair in order to get other alts!